Overclock.net banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,079 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am an Audio Engineer who is looking to get the maximum performance w/o overclocking

I do not run any Digidesign hardware or software. protools etc.
I have a Presonus Fires Studio 2626 Audio interface (would like to keep it but i guess i could switch)

From what i know i must run some version of windows

I run Ableton Live, and soon Cubase and Sonar, tons of software instruments and processors

Computer Idea #1:
Tyan Quad CPU MB
4x AMD Opteron 2376 2.3 GHz
16x 4GB chips totaling 32 GB ram (room for an extra 32 gb)

Computer Idea #2
Cluster with 2 or more Phenom II AMD computers
I have no experience with Clusters

·
Premium Member
4,616 Posts
I'm pretty sure the cluster would work faster, but setting it up is more difficult. I tried to set up a cluster a few times and failed at both attempts.

·
Registered
720 Posts
I'd just go for the first idea but, 32GB of DDR sounds expensive

Thinking around $900+ at first look o.o (8x4GB DDR 266Mhz Modules)

·
Registered
1,079 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Quote:

Originally Posted by Marma Duke View Post
I'd just go for the first idea but, 32GB of DDR sounds expensive

Thinking around $900+ at first look o.o (8x4GB DDR 266Mhz Modules)
Its DDR2 ram.... I could get 8gb kits (4x2gb) for $85 800mhz

·
Registered
1,371 Posts
I would imagine that clusters would be a better choice, however they are much harder to set up, i haven't had much experience with them so i cant tell you what to do, but you im sure there is someone here or on the big web who could explain it, just wait and im sure people on this website will help you =)

·
Registered
1,923 Posts
basing this entire post basically on assuming a "cluster" isn't much different than two systems, one being used as a "web server" the other as the "db server"