Overclock.net banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
150 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys I am currently in my 3rd year of college and I am trying to apply for a credit card so I can start building up my credit. I recently applied for a credit card from bank of america, but they told me that I need a guarantor. My parents have agreed to be my guarantor but I have a few questions and was wondering if anyone had any answers.

1. It ask what my annual income is. Should I put 0 since I do not work and only get money from financial aid?
2. It ask what my monthly housing payment is. I rent a place near my school but it is paid for by my financial aid that I get for school. Should I put what I pay monthly or should I also just put 0?

Thanks!

·
Registered
468 Posts
It depends on how your financial aid works. If you don't taxed on it, then it doesn't count as income.

For your housing though, put down the correct amount. At least that's how I got my bank of america credit card.

·
Registered
2,030 Posts
They do know that you don't have an income correct? I presume that is why your parents are also signing on. If you receive the financial aid to pay for the rent then I would put it.

·
Registered
715 Posts
If your school has a credit union, I would apply for a card through them. They will most likely want you to open a checking account, but it should cost very little to do so if anything at all.

·
Banned
3,058 Posts
I don't recommend a credit card till you get a job to pay it off. Depending on your income and current credit score and history they will base your limit off of that. Get a low starting limit first. 500 dollars should be more than enough for your first card. Also some card companies require that you open a savings account with them as well and require you to keep a minimum balance of 50 dollars in that account as well has having your credit card balance.