Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
718 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm relatively new to to OCN so I've decided to post my case modifications.

Unfortunately I forgot to take some before/after photos, so the stock photos were found through Google when I searched for Compaq Deskpro EN.

Ended up with a free case on garbage day, so I decided I'd try my luck at modding my first case.

Before:

After:

Before:

After:

I have yet to cut a side window and place it in.

Little bit of dim lighting to show off the Christmas lights I picked up at Menard's for $5.

You can see my quick job of inserting the card reader. I ended up using masking tape to hold it in place. I also transferred the front panel that came with my "old" case. I drilled holes through the removable faceplate and hot glued the headphone jack, and USB ports in place.

I also taped the case stickers on (just in case I swap cases again).

My attempt at getting better airflow was to throw in a few fans I had laying around. I cut a few holes (one is hidden in the front behind the grill-like thing). I also raised the case a bit with some cork feet.

This is the fan behind the grill, drawing more air inward. You can also see my smallest HDD hangin' around.

Cost of this case:

Fans (pulled from old servers) - $0
Case (garbage picked) - $0
Lighting - $5
Pumpkin Orange Krylon - $3/can X2
Glue/Tape - <$1

Total - approx. $12

·
Registered
718 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Quote:

Originally Posted by tbone92 View Post
Haha! That's awesome. Looks really cool too.
Well, thank you. I suppose I need to find something else to do with the free time on my hands.
Naw...

Quote:

Originally Posted by tmlclone View Post
You the man.
Thats the heaviest (quality) case ever. lol
Good sound insulation, supposing.

Best re-cycling man.
It weighs 37.3 lbs, which can be annoying to move.