Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
1,555 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
headersmall.jpg

What started out as an idea for some cable management and sleeving has turned into a full-blown case mod that will include watercooling and lots of UV orange and blue. This will be my first case mod on the first computer I've ever built. I realize it's ridiculous to try to fit a decent water loop inside any Antec mid-tower, but I think that's part of the reason I want to try it. Most of the tools and techniques involved in this mod I've never used before, so don't expect it to look perfect. It should be a fun project, and I hope to acquire some new tools and learn in the process.

This is my PC when I first built it. Ewww….

img1103d.jpg

This is the work done prior to this build log:

• NZXT cable extensions
  • Removed grill from side window and swapped acrylic with a 900 (fan mounts flusher without filter)
  • UV Cathodes and UV blue SATA cables
  • Painted a couple 120mm fans UV orange.

So at the start, this is what it looked like.

img0049tc.jpg

And here's the plan for the rest of the build:

• Paint case interior UV Orange Canceled
  • PSU flip with cutout hole on bottom Done
  • Bottom-mount 240 rad Done
  • Plate/false floor to cover PSU and rad, with cutouts for fans and tubing Done
  • Cut/extend cable management holes Done
  • Miscellaneous UV sleeving and heatshrink on cables Done
  • Much taller standoffs on case bottom Done
  • Install CPU/GPU water loop DONE!
  • Full window? (future modification)
Watercooling Parts: Received all as of 1/26/11

• XSPC Rasa CPU Block - Purchased on OCN
  • BIX 240 rad - Purchased on OCN
  • XSPC RASA GPU Block
  • BIP 120 rad
  • Swiftech MCP355
  • XSPC Dual Res/Pump top
  • Koolance UV Orange tubing - 6ft.
  • Bitspower ½" Barbs x 10
  • Quad Block with stop plug for draining loop and connection for PSI gauge

Here is a rough idea of what I'm going for with the bottom cover (1st time using sketchup as well