Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
366 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I made like 20 reddit posts trying to problem solve this issue, will spare most of the details (though link to one of those posts below) to focus on the most prevalent issue.
I went away for a week and shut my PC down ( Ryzen 3600, x470 taichi, 16gb g-skill trident 3600, nvme drive, 750w corsair gold psu, 5700xt ) also unplugged it. When I got back it wasn't booting, it would power on but no screen would display, the boot code screen would give a couple of random codes (sometimes cpu, sometimes pcie, sometimes sata) and then just hard crash so hard that it would require being unplugged for 15 secs before i could attempt rebooting.

Every once in a while after one of those hard resets combined with a bios/cmos reset the computer would boot like normal, I even did fresh windows install, no problem until I shut down, then these issues would repeat.

I tried all the basics (I'm a system builder and A+ tech for over 15 years) replaced all parts excpt mobo and psu, running everything at its lowest settings, the fresh windows install was on a clean unedited bios. I'm betting on something on the motherboard gone bad, and filed for an RMA, but this issue is confusing as hell, especially since it will sometimes work fine until shutdown, (though sometimes this will happen when booting into windows)
https://www.reddit.com/r/pcgamingtechsupport/comments/f6x2e0/gaming_system_wont_boot_after_being_unplugged_for/

Anyone seen anything like this before? can't tell if its the motehrboard/psu/or ****ty power in my house

·
Tech Enthusiast
12,388 Posts
Based on the reddit thread it sounds like you covered most everything that'd cause that...

My initial gun response was the ram or an overclock.

The only thing I haven't seen mentioned is what bios you're on. This could all easily be answered by it being an older version of the bios that isn't as stable

·
Registered
366 Posts
Discussion Starter #3