Overclock.net banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My question is simple and relates to the settings printed on the memory stick sticker. It says the following:

1600MHz 8GB (2x4GB) 9-9-9-24 1.65V

Does 1.65V represent the maximum voltage or the required voltage? I'm asking because my BIOS gives me an evil red-texted over-voltage warning when I set the voltage to 1.65V. It could be that my BIOS is a pansy too.
BIOS
gunner.gif
 

·
Iconoclast
Joined
·
31,008 Posts
Maximum recommended voltage.

Personally, I always use as few volts as I can get away with. Been quite a while since I ran any of my DDR3 at the full 1.65v rated voltage.

Ignore the BIOS warning, there is no magical line where one voltage setting is safe and then a hundredth of a volt higher is not. Regardless, only use what you need.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by dixson01974;11925278
Required voltage to run it @ that speed and timing. Most DDR3 can handle up to 1.75v.
Thanks. I'm new to overclocking and such. For the past month I've been trying to figure out why I keep getting random lag under low-loads. I had my memory voltage set to 1.63V thinking that 1.65V was the max. Changed the voltage to 1.65, lost the lag. WHAT A NOOB I AM
redface.gif
 

·
RTX Sight Unseen
Joined
·
2,373 Posts
I use very similar memory, I think my is rated 8-7-8, but I run it at 9-9-9 and am stable at 1.5v.

Edit: I find that even though they say 1.65v usually only when you have 1866+ memory do you ever need that much power, but every chip is going to be different and have different power needs.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
2,101 Posts
lol I just got that RAM in the mail today! yeah that's normal, most bios give a warning when the voltage is above 1.60v, its pretty difficult to get RAM that's below that voltage and its nothing to worry about
smile.gif
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by jy360;11925342
lol I just got that RAM in the mail today! yeah that's normal, most bios give a warning when the voltage is above 1.60v, its pretty difficult to get RAM that's below that voltage and its nothing to worry about
smile.gif
haha, cool. I found out the hard way (or the noob way) that unless the voltage is set to the sticker specifications, you'll get random lag at the most stupid times ie: 45 second "not responding" delay when opening a PDF document. Correct voltage settings fixed this issue.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
2,101 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by superunintelligible;11925370
haha, cool. I found out the hard way (or the noob way) that unless the voltage is set to the sticker specifications, you'll get random lag at the most stupid times ie: 45 second "not responding" delay when opening a PDF document. Correct voltage settings fixed this issue.
yeah, I havnt used this RAM yet so I don't know what it can do but I would go for tighter timings rather than higher clock speeds.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by jy360;11925422
yeah, I havnt used this RAM yet so I don't know what it can do but I would go for tighter timings rather than higher clock speeds.
Question about that: to get higher timings on these RAM sticks, is that going to be a matter of lowering them one digit at a time, running memtest, and possibly increasing voltage more? I know these sticks can run faster, just haven't tried it yet.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
18,611 Posts
My XMS Classics recommend 1.65v, but my Asus P6T motherboard only does 1.64v or 1.66v. So, it's been running 1.66v for well over a year now with no problems.

The warning is similar to Intel's maximum recommended voltage. You try not to exceed it, but going a bit over isn't a problem.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
2,101 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by superunintelligible;11925482
Question about that: to get higher timings on these RAM sticks, is that going to be a matter of lowering them one digit at a time, running memtest, and possibly increasing voltage more? I know these sticks can run faster, just haven't tried it yet.
just look it up and google it a bit, I would say that the maximum might be something like 9-8-7-22 but as iv said I have not used them yet, it might go lower. also the voltage does not need to be increased from my experience
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
9,682 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex98uk;11925502
My XMS Classics recommend 1.65v, but my Asus P6T motherboard only does 1.64v or 1.66v. So, it's been running 1.66v for well over a year now with no problems.

The warning is similar to Intel's maximum recommended voltage. You try not to exceed it, but going a bit over isn't a problem.
Intel is a little different than AMD. I heard that if you put too much voltage to memory it will burn up the IMC on Intel, but with AMD the memory voltage will not effect the IMC.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
2,101 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dixson01974;11925575
Intel is a little different than AMD. I heard that if you put too much voltage to memory it will burn up the IMC on Intel, but with AMD the memory voltage will not effect the IMC.
yeah, thats right.
 
1 - 13 of 13 Posts
Top