Overclock.net banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all...

Im looking for some input, or other opinion.
The situation is:
That my build i taking to long. ( its running )
Old problems is not solved. ( water split )
Shall I upgrade the CPU. ( from 6600K to 7700K )
Got some lighting stuff I want to share. ( when its tested )

And in the end, I just wanted to hit the 5K mark.

So, should I go for the upgrade, its almost free, but a lot of work.
There is an extra bonus, that needed disassembling of the loop.

Can I?
As it is, hit the 5GHz mark?
With upgrade?
Or du I need other cooling? ( TEC? )

Or should I go for something else?

PS. Im a programmer, just need RAM and CPU...

·
Registered
2,202 Posts
Upgrading to the 7700k is definitely a plus but it depends on the type of work you do and what you expect to get from your PC. disassembling your loop for such an upgrade should be the issue, you mentioned there is a water leak... is it still leaking? because if it is, you might want to make that your top priority to get it fixed before doing anything else.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Happy New Year everybody..

@EMUracing I need to what? delid and replace stock TIM?

@Boyd Now I got a new CPU but still in the package.. So disassembling is in the future. I don't have a leak, I wanted to maker a Y split, but I need more info about it. But I cant seem to find anything on it..

·
Registered
71 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisBdk View Post

Happy New Year everybody..

@EMUracing I need to what? delid and replace stock TIM?

@Boyd Now I got a new CPU but still in the package.. So disassembling is in the future. I don't have a leak, I wanted to maker a Y split, but I need more info about it. But I cant seem to find anything on it..
yeah youtube delid 7700k, and why do you need a Y split?

·
Registered
687 Posts