Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 73 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i have a bigger problem i think i fried my CPU or it just got fried on its own i mean every since i got it its beeen running pretty hot, i went through a whole thing of artic cooler and im not joking? so i bought the CPU on newegg how do i go about returning this product and how clean does the cpu have to be im pretty new to this, and i know i burned the cpu up becuase i put it in my other machine and it would not turn on like it does , it all started when i tried to play war of rights got all up to the screen than my computer just shuts off and i have ben having trouble ever since this all happened today so any help would be awesome..

·
Premium Member
15,028 Posts
Remove CPU, clean TIM, package, RMA.

Which kind of CPU is it?

·
I Love this Hobby!
7,786 Posts
We need more info on the hardware in your build.

Now how did you fry the CPU?

Why was it or why did you let it run on high temps? CPUs should not fry on high temps since protective circuitry should either throttle the CPU or just shut down the machine, however there is no guarantees. Did you run it on high temps for an extended period? Did you OC? Did you test temps after you installed the CPU (idle/load)?

Again, how and why did this happen?

·
Premium Member
15,028 Posts
All I need to know is AMD or Intel.

:lachen:

Intel RMA is great! They're American, even! :lachen:

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
We need more info on the hardware in your build.

Now how did you fry the CPU?

Why was it or why did you let it run on high temps? CPUs should not fry on high temps since protective circuitry should either throttle the CPU or just shut down the machine, however there is no guarantees. Did you run it on high temps for an extended period? Did you OC? Did you test temps after you installed the CPU (idle/load)?

Again, how and why did this happen?