Overclock.net banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Notice: I'm an overclocking novice.

I've only done 12 hours in Prime95 but I think my 4.8Ghz overclock on my 3770k is stable (at max 74C). Initially I tried to set voltages manually, but that would constantly cause instability and crashing, so I left it on auto. Now CPU-Z shows Core Voltage 1.456v which is very high I know, but HWiNFO shows 1.246v. Are these reading different things? I thought VID and Core Voltage were the same thing. Any incite into why these two values differ? (screenshot attached)

Anyways, I'm basically just trying to push my 3770k to the maximum until DDR4 prices drop and I decide to upgrade to a new CPU/Mobo/RAM. I'd like to wait for the 9700k coming out presumably the end of the year(?). If I manage to fry my CPU, I'll upgrade early, haha.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,289 Posts
yeah, I've noticed the same thing with my set up too. but HWbot was always higher / weird temps vs realtemp / actual BIOS V and temps. i always go by what my board actually says and RealTemp / CPU-z, i deleted HWbot

·
Watercooled
872 Posts
The VID is the nominal voltage of your CPU, if you left vCore in AUTO when you overclock the motherboard will set a offset +0.***v and is usually more voltage than is really necessary.
Try this CPU Voltage > Offset mode "+" > 0.100V and increase/decrease the value in 0.025v steps until you reach stability, personally i will stay under 1.35v for 24/7 - 1.4v MAX

·
Registered
29 Posts
Notice: I'm an overclocking novice.