Overclock.net banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

Im new to water cooling and i have built a rig using and EKWB DDC pump.

I have a concern about the pump. When I assembled the loop I added a heat sink to the pump and i noticed the pump runs REALLY hot.

Is this normal? The pump is running at about 3.5k rpm, PWM on a moderate curve.

Any recommendations?

Thanks!

·
Lost in SoCal
466 Posts
I am no expert (so maybe someone will chime in), but my understanding is that DDC's pump their heat away from the water. So they run hot but the water stays cooler. D5 pumps put their heat in the water, but the pump unit itself stays cool.

Basically, from what I understand it's normal as long as it's not taking fingerprints off.

·
Invalid Media
2,109 Posts
I'm not sure what your definition of REALLY hot is, but you can always mount a fan nearby that blows onto the heat fins of a DDC pump if you're concerned. DDC pumps generally run a bit hotter overall (including compared to D5s, as DDCs put out a bit more max pressure / psi / bar, via a smaller diameter).

Somewhat related, DerBauer did a decent vid for CasekingTV (below) about both D5s and its smaller brother, the DDC...vid is in German though, but content such as comp tables probably don't need translation...he also mentions that DDC pumps run a bit hotter.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks. I dont have an non contact thermometer but i imagine its in the 40 degree range at times...my fingers are not calibrated though so im probably very off.

·
Premium Member
2,401 Posts
40 degrees is normal for that pump. If you want you could always get the heatsink for it, or least for the Swiftech version though should be compatible with all

·
Invalid Media
2,109 Posts
Thanks. I dont have an non contact thermometer but i imagine its in the 40 degree range at times...my fingers are not calibrated though so im probably very off.