Overclock.net banner

DDR4 3600Mhz RAM will not post with XMP

652 Views 11 Replies 8 Participants Last post by  Spectre21
I'm new to the OC scene, got this pc from a friend. I've been using DDR4 at stock initially and saw some memory on sale and figured I'd grab em.

The Specs are as following:

Intel Core i5-6600K 3.5 GHz Quad-Core Processor
NZXT Kraken X62 Rev 2 98.17 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler
MSI Z170A SLI ATX LGA1151 Motherboard
Corsair Vengeance LPX 32 GB (2 x 16 GB) DDR4-3600 CL16 Memory (The ram I bought)
MSI GAMING X GeForce GTX 1080 8 GB Video Card
Super Flower Leadex Gold 750 W 80+ Gold Certified Fully Modular ATX Power Supply
NZXT S340 ATX Mid Tower Case

The 6600k is stable at 4.5ghz, running xmp profile at 3400mhz with the timings 16 - 19 - 19 - 36 that is meant for 3600mhz...Won't post at 3600, 3400 seems to be the limit. Running them in A2 and B2, Tested both individually in A2, they do run at full speed of 3600mhz however dual rank seems to be the issue. The motherboard is rated for 3600 so that shouldn't be the issue, I've read that some z170 boards don't like xmp profiles and that I have to manually overclock the ram. I've tried disabling the profile and punching in the timings, yet still 3600 wouldn't post. It probably has to do with me not knowing how to OC ram. My naive idea is since I can run 3400mhz why not 3600?

Font Material property Rectangle Screenshot Parallel
Rectangle Font Parallel Screenshot Number
Rectangle Font Parallel Number Screenshot
Rectangle Font Screenshot Parallel Number

Font Parallel Screenshot Number Rectangle
Font Material property Screenshot Parallel Number

Azure Font Rectangle Screenshot Technology
Font Display device Slope Screenshot Technology
Font Technology Screenshot
Font Laptop Electric blue Number
Automotive tire Bumper Font Audio equipment Automotive exterior
Font Parallel Number Document Monochrome
Font Technology Parallel Electric blue Number
Font Parallel Terrestrial plant Slope Symmetry