Overclock.net banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
596 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone, just built my new rig here and it's been an uphill battle to get it setup. My motherboard came with a monitoring program that includes temps and voltages. How do these voltages sound:

+12V = 11.45V
+5.0V = 4.99V
+3.3V = 3.26V
+1.5v = 1.5V

These are under idle conditions. I've noticed that my PS bounces between 10.43V and 11.31 on the 12V rail when I use the DVD burner ... that's not good. The other two are stable. What could be causing this? Do I have a junk PS? Or is this whole model supply just a lousy design? When I turn on my cold cathode too, the 12v rail drops to 10.5v and stays around there... hmm .... is it time for me to get an RMA form from Newegg? Or can I just go into the BIOS and crank it up? Please forgive me, I'm new to such things as modifying the PS rails and overclocking...

·
Registered
712 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by jbescup

Hey everyone, just built my new rig here and it's been an uphill battle to get it setup. My motherboard came with a monitoring program that includes temps and voltages. How do these voltages sound:

+12V = 11.45V
+5.0V = 4.99V
+3.3V = 3.26V
+1.5v = 1.5V

These are under idle conditions. I've noticed that my PS bounces between 10.43V and 11.31 on the 12V rail when I use the DVD burner ... that's not good. The other two are stable. What could be causing this? Do I have a junk PS? Or is this whole model supply just a lousy design? When I turn on my cold cathode too, the 12v rail drops to 10.5v and stays around there... hmm .... is it time for me to get an RMA form from Newegg? Or can I just go into the BIOS and crank it up? Please forgive me, I'm new to such things as modifying the PS rails and overclocking...