Overclock.net banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
752 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm completely new to the "pro" way of overclocking. I'm learning about the voltages, I've got all the software, etc. One thing that is sticking out like a sore thumb is Everest temps not matching RealTemp.

Example: Everest currently reports a CPU temp of 28c. RealTemp currently reports a CPU temp of 48c. That's a huge difference, so either one of them is really out of calibration or they're monitoring two different things but calling them the same thing. Is there an explanation for this?

Another weird thing I noticed...when RealTemp is open and minimized to tray, the temp will quickly jump from 48c to 53c when I open Everest, and then it drops quickly back down to 48c. Does that small/short period of CPU usage from Everest actually cause a superfast 4c increase/decrease in core temps?

·
Registered
752 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Crap...I didn't know that about the e8400 sensors.

Well, I guess I can just watch both of them and figure out an average and assume that's the temp I'm currently running at. Not any safer/more dangerous than watching just one or the other if you think about it.

·
Registered
3,777 Posts
Use cortemp

I'm sure you already know about the E8400s Temp Sensor problems correct? I usually use Coretemp when I had the E8400 and just concentrate on the highest core temp. Usually you are lucky and you will only have one bad sensor rather than both.

In coretemp there is Core0 and Core1, Core1 was the one that worked for me.

·
Registered
752 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Quote:

Originally Posted by That_guy3 View Post
Use cortemp

I'm sure you already know about the E8400s Temp Sensor problems correct? I usually use Coretemp when I had the E8400 and just concentrate on the highest core temp. Usually you are lucky and you will only have one bad sensor rather than both.

In coretemp there is Core0 and Core1, Core1 was the one that worked for me.