Overclock.net banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Tank destroyer and a god
2,556 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Dont worry it wont be another "i spent fortune on game" rant. I will split this article and focus on two games, and the way how social media are affecting the public opinion.

1. World of Tanks.

I have been playing it for 2 years as free user. Had over 6500 battles, and i preferred random ones while using Tank Destroyers, either Hetzer or Jagdpanther (hence my avatar). My goal with the game was simply to play few 15 minute rounds a day and have some fun.

Even when premium ammo became a thing, i realy did not felt the urge to use it. I was mainly using high proficient tank crew I had and precise aims of the tank destroyer.

2. Archeage
This game has been widely criticized for its payment model and i clearly understand outrage of many potential players. I have decided to give the game a shot. When progressing the firran racial quests i realized, i didnt had so much fun since Diablo II, and i really liked the overall game system. RNG at the first time was terrible, over the years has been tuned down a lot.

After three months as non-patron i tried to purchase patron and keept it active via Apexes purchased via ingame gold (eg, somebody was receiving my gold, publisher received money from somebody else, but not me, i received the credits/patron status). After another 6 months i decided to become a subscriber and pay with money for the patron status.

The bad things on AA market:
It offers loot boxes. I never felt into craze when new one was released. As they contain items which are considered a resource, and their purchase was never limited it can be considered as RNG driven P2W. But instead of buying direct advantage, you get "lottery ticket" instead.