Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
239 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. I'm new to Folding, but not new to OCN. I have an old P4 on an Asus board that I built as a hold-over until my main rig's mobo was back from RMA. It's just sitting here on my desk now that my main rig is up and running, so a few days ago I thought I'd put it to work. I've seen all the time and effort you fine folks are putting into this project and thought I'd do a little to help too.

I have no problem leaving this rig folding 24/7. I set it up with the windows CPU client (i think?) 4 days ago. I finished my first WU 3 days after that!
hahaha

I came home today and the machine was shut off. I couldn't get it to turn back on, so I opened the case and found that the power supply was really hot. I figured it had hit the thermal overload and shut down. A couple hours later I fired it back up and adjusted all my fan speeds to help compensate. This silly antec power supply has a couple fan wires that you can run to a pwm socket on the MB. I guess I had the fans on it turned way down in speed fan and didn't notice. We'll see how that works out.

Anyway, tonight I got to poking around in the FaH client and the resource monitor in Windows 7. It looks like the client is only using 50 percent of my CPU, even though I have the slider run all the way to the right. Is this normal? How can I get it to use all 100% Is this a windows 7 issue?

I have many more questions, but I'll keep poking around this forum and see if I can't answer them myself.

Thanks in advance!

·
Premium Member
46,114 Posts
Try the SMP client; it'll use 100% of the CPU.

However, you might not be able to finish the WU inside the deadline. In that case (try first and see how it goes), fold using 2 standard Unicore clients.

·
Registered
239 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Quote:

Originally Posted by zodac
View Post

However, you might not be able to finish the WU inside the deadline.