Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I guess this thread serves as both an introduction and my HTPC's transformation. My obsession started over at avsforums.com, which led me to my budget HTPC (and first time computer) build. I had always wanted to build one, but being a college student proved difficult to raise the funds. I graduated from college and started work as an Electrical Engineer. My company generiously offered a starting bonus, which funded this HTPC. I've had it for almost 9 months now, and the tickle to tinker has finally gotten the best of me.

Current Setup

-ASUS M3N78-EM Mobo, with on-board NVIDIA GeForce 8300 and HDMI, optical audio.

-AMD Athlon 64 X2 7750 Kuma BE, currently at stock clock of 2.7ghz.

-2 Gig G.SKILL DDR2 1066 Ram

-LG Blu-ray/HD DVD optical drive

-re-used 250 GB Hard Drive from previous desktop (OS)

-3x 1TB WD Caviar Green for storage

-Corsair 550vx PSU

All this is in the old, TINY desktop case. Its crammed.

Instead of buying an HTPC style case when I bought everything, I decided to re-use an old desktop case I had laying around and spend more on the blu-ray drive and extra storage. I couldn't find an HTPC case that really impressed me. Being an Electrical Engineer, I'm much more fascinated with circuit boards, big heat sinks, fancy sleeving, and pretty lighting than I am with a case that looks like all of my other A/V gear.

The Plan
I've purchased a refurb'd HAF 932 from cooler masters website, which is on the way. I'll be painting the case flat black with some aqua accents. All cabling will be sleeved black and aqua. I still have to decide on the lighting as well. The case will get an enormous acrylic window to show off the goods.

I'll be using THIS fan controller to control all of my case fans. This will allow me to slow the fans to quiet them when watching a movie, but speed them up when I go to bed at night and leave the computer running to rip/encode my movies.