Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Haven't been on the forums in a while..

To the point. I have $2400 at my disposal for a new system. This is my FIRST build that's not scrap parts put together. I want this to be a gaming and performance build and wish to do more research and to make sure there are no complications.
smile.gif

The build will contain:

Processor
Intel i7 - 3930k ($600)

Motherboard
ASUS Rampage IV Extreme LGA 2011 Intel X79 ($450)

Memory
CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 ($95)

GPU
ASUS HD7970-3GD5-3DI2S Radeon HD 7970 3GB 384-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 ($560)

PSU
CORSAIR Professional Series HX850 850W ($170)

CPU Cooler
CORSAIR H100 (CWCH100) Extreme Performance Liquid CPU Cooler ($120)

SSD
Corsair Force Series GT 60GB SATA III Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) ($115)

Case
Corsair Obsidian Series 650D ($190)

That totals to around $2300 and I have some spare hard drives and DVD drives laying around that I can use.

-- I do wish to do some over clocking (as far as the H100 will take me)
-- In the near future I wish to go SLI with the 7970 unless something better comes out
-- And soon when I get more $ I will be focusing on upgrading chassis (such as fans and such)

Will the 850W be enough to SLI the 7970 in the future?
And of course the main thing, Can anyone give me any suggestions for this build?

Anything would be very much appreciated
biggrin.gif

·
Registered
1,732 Posts
Very solid, I couldn't think of anything to tweak it. And yes, 850W is plenty to do CrossFire in the future.

Oh, and you said SLI the 7970s, not crossfire lol

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by White Fire View Post

Very solid, I couldn't think of anything to tweak it. And yes, 850W is plenty to do CrossFire in the future.
Oh, and you said SLI the 7970s, not crossfire lol
I feel like punching myself for saying SLI! lololol whoops!!!

·
Registered