Overclock.net banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone.

I'm James, and I'm working on overclocking my first rig. I bought a scalable set up so that I can work my way up to decent speeds. I'm starting on a $100 cpu so that I can screw up and not be too mad.

I successfully overclocked my first GPU last night from 775 MHz to 890MHz and got the memory speed up from 1000MHz to 1250MHz. Not a huge difference, and I'm sure AutoTune would have gotten me there, but I was learning the basics of stability. I will work on the CPU next and see how it does, then maybe I'll move on to higher clocks.

I've gotten a lot of information here, so I thought it was time to join.

My rig (remember I'm new to this, so I didn't spend too much):

CPU: AMD Athlon II x4 640 Propus 3.0GHz (L3 unlocked from Deneb die)
GPU: Sapphire Radeon HD5850 800MHz 1 GB DDR5 (2nd release)
MoBo: GigaByte GA-790XTA-UD4 AM3 AMD 790X SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0
RAM: 8GB (4x2GB) CORSAIR DOMINATOR-GT DDR3 1866GHz (running at 1333)
Case: AZZA Fantom 900 Black
Cooling: Zalman CNPS9700 LED 110mm (CPU), Dual AirFlow fan (RAM)
HDD: Three Seagate Barracuda XT ST32000641AS 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s in RAID 5 (4TB)
PSU: 650 Watt Corsair PFC + Crossfire

Soon to be added: A second HD5850, upgrade to 1000W PSU, and AMD Phenom II X4 970 Black Edition 3.5GHz

So there it is, that's my rig. It's not much, but it's 3 times as much as my last one, so I think it's good to learn on. I'm about to reboot and start incrementing my FSB now... See you in the forums!

·
Registered
251 Posts
welcome to ocn. I don't think you give yourself enough credit on the graphics card oc, 890/1250 is pretty darn good on a 5850. sounds like you've got the right idea. stability is key. good luck with the project and keep in mind, there are plenty of people here willing to help if you need it.