Overclock.net banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
HI guys,

well Im a total noob in overclocking, and this is my first experience.
Before that I had cheap msi b75 mITX mobo, which wasnt made for overclocking at all, but yesturday I have finally upgraded my mobo to evga stinger to try some overclock on my 3570k.

Ive read a lot of negative comments on this particular mobo, but there were no much of a choice, and the mainreason for buying this was the esthetics for my build. I knew that asus had better solutions but blue mobo, will not fit black and red theme of my build. But anyway I had problem runing this svga z77 stinger on stock speeds. It was quite unstable and under a load it had random shut downs. But efter overclocking in to 4.2Ghz system seems to be very stable, idk why actually.
But the main reason why Im crating this thread is to make sure if Im doing things right. Because it is my first oc experience.

Im running 3570k on evga z77 stinger mITX mobo in my bitfenix prodigy cooled my corsair h100i in push pull mod with stock fans and sp120qe.

the first thing is the temperatures. I had my 3570k running on a previous mobo at stock speeds in idle 24-30C and under a load 59-63 degrees. I thought these temos were a little bit high for stock frequences, but had no options to improove it. I tried everything and the temps were same, even rubber washers to make cpu cooler backplate fit tightly.

after installing my new mobo, temps were the same, maybe 2-3 higher in stock speeds. And as I mentioned before the system was terrible unstable.

After overclocking to 4.2 my idle tems are same 24-30C, but under a load temps are near to stock config. 64C on the max. I ran this config with prime 95 for whole night and temps were 66 on the max. No BSODs or random shut downs. Is it okay? or Im doing something wrong?