Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
1,241 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was wondering about this, i just got new speakers and would like to try it!
where can i get some?
do i need a special player (software) for it? or can i use itunes?
how large are FLAC files? (average size)

·
Premium Member
18,611 Posts
FLAC varies between 20mb-40mb per song, but obviously depends on how great the compression is and how long the song. You can either get it by ripping your own CD's or finding a legal download site that sells tracks in lossless (they usually come as .wav's that you can then convert).

·
Premium Member
809 Posts
I dont know if iTunes will play them I have no experience with it. But to properly make FLAC files you need to start with CD's or .wav files that have not already been converted to any lossy format (mp3, wma) I use foobar 2000 to convert and to play back my FLACs. Ave size depends on what level you use when compressing them but mine ave 30-40 mb

·
Premium Member
18,611 Posts
I don't think iTunes supports FLAC (but you can use their ALAC format (Apple Lossless Audio Codec) which is supported). The most popular players are probably Winamp and Foobar2000.

·
Too Poor For This
7,054 Posts
You can download it (legally of course) or you can rip it from CDs. I personally use Winamp and it works great for me. iTunes is a bit easier to work with when it comes to changing information for songs but the interface is still easy to use. FLAC+Soundcard+Nice Speakers/Headphones=Sex

·
Registered
1,241 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
30-40mb?!?
christ!
do you know a site where i can get some samples of .flac or .wav?

·
Registered
1,738 Posts
Correct, iTunes does not play FLAC. I would personally use foobar2000 to play the files. It's what I use.