Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
3,315 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been playing counter-strike on and off for about 10 years since the beta days and a few of my friends have me playing on a scrim team on esea again. It made me consider my gaming mouse and keyboard all over again (settled w/ razer lycosa and intellimouse 1.1A w/ hyperglide skates) and now im just considering what implications a large monitor might have on peripheral eyesight and reaction time.

I LOVE the 28" Hannspree I have for games like shattered horizon and BC2, but counterstrike I play at 800x600 and at 4:3 instead of 16:10.

With some quick math, (assuming the monitor is 27.5" viewable at 16:10), when I put the monitor into 4:3 and it places black bars on the sides to keep aspect ratio, that is equivalent to a 24.516" 4:3 LCD monitor. Considering I used to play on 19" LCDs, do you think as long as I have decent distance from the screen that the larger display is possibly slowing my reaction time to objects that are not in the center 30-40% of the monitor ?

My only comparison is the 20" 4:3 monitor I found laying in a back room at work and without having them side by side its hard to really tell.

Im not worried about the quality of the picture w/ 800x600 stretched over 1600x1200 pixels on a 28" LCD w/ higher pixel pitch, Im just wondering if you think 24 vs 19" is enough to slow reaction time assuming the same viewing distance

·
Premium Member
65,162 Posts
Reaction time has nothing to do with screen size.

.... you can adjust mouse DPI to account for the higher resolution.

·
Premium Member
7,860 Posts
You can certainly make adjustments.

When I was on vacation, I played TF2 on a 30 inch monitor and it really, really bothered me. I didn't feel like I was as aware of my peripheral vision, and my movement in general felt awkward and laggy.

It took me a while to get used to it, but I did get used to it.

Then I had problems moving back to my 22 inch....

·