Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All,
I am an old newby. I am a retired airline pilot and have taken up building computers. I thought I was doing it right, but obviously I missed something and fried my processor. I am not yet 100% sure that it is fried but I could not get into the bios until I replaced it. I will now try it in another build and see if it really is toast. Fortunately I had another replacement on hand. The temp never got over 75 degrees celcius, but I am thinking that that temp is too high. It must be. If anyone has any suggestions, I am all ears. It is really great to find this site and all the resources that are here.. Cheers, cappycappy53

·
Not new to Overclock.net
78,991 Posts
75 for the 2600K is safe. What core voltage did you have it up to?

·
Not new to Overclock.net
78,991 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cappycappy53 View Post

I have some doubts at this point what voltage is what, but the cpu voltage was 1.36
That's safe too. Maybe the overclock was way too unstable to even get into the BIOS.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I was trying for 4.8 and it booted OK but it crashed after I ran LIN-X for about 20 minutes and then would not boot again.....couldn't even get into the BIOS

·
Not new to Overclock.net
78,991 Posts
This may seem irrelevant, but what do you have for a power supply? What's the make and model?

·
Premium Member
18,219 Posts
Quote:

On my board Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z it is supposed to reset to default after a crash
That hardly never works right tho reset bios and check the cpu again, volts and temps were both in limits so either cpu is still good or you just ended up with a lemon that probly would of died under stock conditions.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·