Overclock.net banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2,122 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking to spend ~$2k with monitor.

Note on monitor: The desk might be a bit small, so we looked at ~22" with the best dot pitch. Seems only 21.5" 1080P's fit the bill.

Doing a build for a friend, but I have no experience with i7's + X58 (did a P55 build for another friend). He's looking for it to last about 3 years and he won't overclock. He will mainly use this computer for gaming and streaming media to his Xbox.

Will there be any issues with the parts I chose? I looked up QVL's and compatibility problems, and they should be clear. Also, will the P183 cool fine? I'm worried about having a GTX 480 in there. Any recommendations on cases would be great.

Anyway, here's the list of stuff.

Antec P183
Asus P6X58D-E
Corsair HX850 (chosen for 7 year warranty)
Core i7 930
EVGA GTX 480
2 x 6GB G.Skill NQs
2 x Samsung 1TB F3
Asus 21.5" 1080p
Asus Xonar DX PCI-E

·
Registered
1,662 Posts
That power supply is a bit much for 1 gpu, even the GTX 480. Especially so if we wont be overclocking. Go with the 750hx. The GTX 480 in that case my pose a bit of a problem, the only reason I say this is because it seems you're friend doesn't know much about hardware; with such a powerful, and hot card, I'd be monitoring it's temps all the time. I consider it an enthusiast level card that is going to require a case with nice airflow and some technical know-how for monitoring it.

·
sudo apt install sl
8,311 Posts
The Antec P183 is a quiet case but it has poor airflow and the idea to have a door to cover the two 120mm fans is a terrible idea. I should of got a Silverstone FT02 instead
Also do you have a MicroCenter near you?

Edit: 12GB of ram is useless for gaming.

$200 for a core i7 930 but it's in Long Island http://www.microcenter.com/single_pr...uct_id=0331303

·
Registered
2,122 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Quote:

Originally Posted by Smykster
View Post