Overclock.net banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first time ocing. I've read too much and it seems so simple but I ran into problems.
1st attempt: I went and tried fsb instead of multiplier. Not a single MHz worked. Default 200. I tried 201, 205, 210, 215 max. I even bumped NB voltage by +0.1v, default 1.2v. With such failure, I reset everything and went to multiplier.
2nd attempt: Default 20x. I bummed to 21x and realized its not even stable at stock voltage. What the hell?? People say they get to 22x, 24x at stock voltage, I feel stupid. I went ahead and raised the Vcore to 1.250(fail), 1.325(fail), I got scared so I determine to max at 1.425v. Finally it was stable at 21x. Thus I went up and tried 22x. I can't not believe this. 22x at 1.425v is not even stable, I literally wana smack it with my fist -.-. Sadly I accepted this to be my max. I didn't give up yet!
3rd attempt: Fsb + multiplier. My worst nightmare. I just can't find a combination that past 4.2ghz. That is, within temp range. Max temp for fx8350 is 61 Celsius and I literally hit a 62 Celsius 3 seconds without looking and ****ted my pant.....Long story short, I'm clueless with fsb.

I can't not! Can not accept the fact that 4.2ghz is all I can get. Idle=18 Celsius, load=40celsius with Vcore set 1.425v. I enabled all power features after stable 4.2. Vcore now is in range of .90v-1.392v.

Will someone please guide me in the right direction?? I'm am 100% sure I did something wrong as people have gotten 4.4 with only 1.35v, etc much lower than 1.425v

Cpu: fx8350 with hyper 212 evo cooling + push/pull SP fan config
Mb: ga-78lmt-usb3, yes 4+1 phase.

Thanks a bunch!! I really want 4.4, but if I can go 4.3, I'll be satisfied
biggrin.gif
(4.5 is a dream as I only have air cooling)

·
Da Boss
1,894 Posts
I'm willing to bet that your motherboard that's holding you back. Also, you could have just lost the silicone lottery and got a bum chip.

·
Registered
20 Posts