Overclock.net banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
179 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
would my fx 8350 overclock to 4.5ghz bottleneck my r9 390x at stock, and will it make in min fps a difference if i set the cpu at 4.6ghz

and yes i know its overkill but i still play at 1080p, and i can not get my cpu at a higer overclock, i have not won the lottery with that cpu, to get it stable at 4.5ghz i need 1.472v under load.
 

·
Sunday League Jibber
Joined
·
4,254 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbobooster View Post

would my fx 8350 overclock to 4.5ghz bottleneck my r9 390x at stock, and will it make in min fps a difference if i set the cpu at 4.6ghz

and yes i know its overkill but i still play at 1080p, and i can not get my cpu at a higer overclock, i have not won the lottery with that cpu, to get it stable at 4.5ghz i need 1.472v under load.
Maybe like a 1FPS difference. To get noticeable jumps in minimum frames you'd need to get to 4.8ish. Having used both a 6700k and an 8320 with both single and Crossfire Furies, I can say that my minimum frames were essentially the same at 4k, but of course at 1080p you're more likely to be CPU bound. Even so, Sgt. Bilko did a great write-up here: http://wccftech.com/fx-8370-i5-6400-gaming-comparison/

He's working on 4k/1080p versions so that would give you more information, but in terms of bottlenecking that 390x, that's just 1920x1080 for you. Resolution would continue to force the bottleneck to the CPU at 5.0 unless games become incredibly demanding overnight.
 

·
curmudgeon
Joined
·
5,930 Posts
It depends on the game. Any modern game will be GPU bound while old games will be CPU bound. Here are two games, one modern and one old. My 290X can not keep up in modern games at all. Note that in the single thread game it couldn't even push a 280X

 

·
Registered
Joined
·
799 Posts
In old single thread games like Crysis 1, my FX need to be @ 5.0 to run my R9 280X at full load.

In modern games like Crysis 3, my FX stock push the 280X to the limit.

Here the FX Single Thread S.S



thumb.gif

Quote:
Originally Posted by miklkit View Post

It depends on the game. Any modern game will be GPU bound while old games will be CPU bound. Here are two games, one modern and one old. My 290X can not keep up in modern games at all. Note that in the single thread game it couldn't even push a 280X

 

·
Registered
Joined
·
179 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Quote:
Originally Posted by jclafi View Post

In old single thread games like Crysis 1, my FX need to be @ 5.0 to run my R9 280X at full load.

In modern games like Crysis 3, my FX stock push the 280X to the limit.

Here the FX Single Thread S.S



thumb.gif
damm i have a ****ty chip, mine wont even run at 4.6ghz 1.52v
 

·
Sunday League Jibber
Joined
·
4,254 Posts
Sounds like a piggy of a chip. It might just be old silicon or bad luck but might as well see what you can get out of it. The 83xx owner's thread is great for that.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
799 Posts
The MotherBoard VRM layout play a big role regarding FX-8XXX overclocking...

I got my FX-8350 back in 2012, so it´s a very early batch....

About the voltage @ 5Ghz, it need something around 1.55v in BIOS to be fully stable.

Not the best CPU, but not the worst...

See ya
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbobooster View Post

damm i have a ****ty chip, mine wont even run at 4.6ghz 1.52v
 

·
curmudgeon
Joined
·
5,930 Posts
That is a good 8350. I bought mine in January 2013 and it needs 1.524 volts for 4.8 ghz.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
10,113 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by miklkit View Post

It depends on the game. Any modern game will be GPU bound while old games will be CPU bound. Here are two games, one modern and one old. My 290X can not keep up in modern games at all. Note that in the single thread game it couldn't even push a 280X

Quote:
Originally Posted by jclafi View Post

In old single thread games like Crysis 1, my FX need to be @ 5.0 to run my R9 280X at full load.

In modern games like Crysis 3, my FX stock push the 280X to the limit.

Here the FX Single Thread S.S



thumb.gif

Quote:
Originally Posted by miklkit View Post

It depends on the game. Any modern game will be GPU bound while old games will be CPU bound. Here are two games, one modern and one old. My 290X can not keep up in modern games at all. Note that in the single thread game it couldn't even push a 280X

As you said, depends on the game and settings , Crysis 3 I can wring the guts out of my 780ti classified on medium settings with my FX rig, on the other hand my 4.9 ghz 4790k technically bottlenecks my 7970 in world of tanks.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,013 Posts
It's not directly what OP asked, but myy FX-8350 at 4.6GHz pushes my GTX 970 to 100% no problem. PlanetSide 2 is my game, and I bounce between CPU and GPU bound depending on the fight.

Again, it depends on the game you play.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
822 Posts
In Black Ops 3 my 290x maxes if I turn frame limiting off (which really helps) and I am at 4.6 right now.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
16,458 Posts
Have you tried bumping your fsb voltage? I found bumping my fsb voltage allowed me to drop my cpu voltage and run my OC higher on both my 8310 and 8350
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
179 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
Quote:
Originally Posted by CravinR1 View Post

Have you tried bumping your fsb voltage? I found bumping my fsb voltage allowed me to drop my cpu voltage and run my OC higher on both my 8310 and 8350
you mean cpu-nb voltage?

yes i have it on 1.254v set in bios.

these are my settings now

fsb 225 multi 21 so 4.6ghz

mem 1800 stock is 1866

cpu-nb and htt 2475 can only change them together

cpu voltage in bios set to 1.48v

i can run games, run cinema4d rendering and all its just not stable using a real stress test
 

·
curmudgeon
Joined
·
5,930 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cssorkinman View Post

As you said, depends on the game and settings , Crysis 3 I can wring the guts out of my 780ti classified on medium settings with my FX rig, on the other hand my 4.9 ghz 4790k technically bottlenecks my 7970 in world of tanks.
OT, but whaaaaa?

I just recently started playing WoT and checked the loads. It only uses 4 cores and my FX is only getting around 50% loads on those 4 cores. The 290X is running 100% almost all the time. It seems to be limited to 120 fps so when it hits that it drops off 100% loads. WoT is pretty physics heavy tho and the FX is very good at physics.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
10,113 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by miklkit View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by cssorkinman View Post

As you said, depends on the game and settings , Crysis 3 I can wring the guts out of my 780ti classified on medium settings with my FX rig, on the other hand my 4.9 ghz 4790k technically bottlenecks my 7970 in world of tanks.
OT, but whaaaaa?

I just recently started playing WoT and checked the loads. It only uses 4 cores and my FX is only getting around 50% loads on those 4 cores. The 290X is running 100% almost all the time. It seems to be limited to 120 fps so when is ts that it drops off 100% loads. WoT is pretty physics heavy tho and the FX is very good at physics.
4.4 ghz on the i7 in this capture. The hwinfo graph shows gpu usage first at low settings, then at medium settings ( trying to push fps for 144hz monitor useage) probably running 1920 x 1200, don't recall for certain. I'll sow around and see if I can find the 4.9 ghz pictures when I get home from work too darn hot outside to do much else lol.

 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,166 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jclafi View Post

The MotherBoard VRM layout play a big role regarding FX-8XXX overclocking...
I got my FX-8350 back in 2012, so it´s a very early batch....
About the voltage @ 5Ghz, it need something around 1.55v in BIOS to be fully stable.
Not the best CPU, but not the worst...
Quote:
Originally Posted by miklkit View Post

That is a good 8350. I bought mine in January 2013 and it needs 1.524 volts for 4.8 ghz.
I bought one right after the New Year in 2013. It could make 4.85 GHz stable at 1.48v, could boot at 5 GHz with that voltage but was very unstable. It took about 1.53 for stability and ran very, very hot. It could boot at 5.1 GHz with 1.62v, but there was no way to maintain that on air cooling for very long. I sold the chip later on, and the last I heard, someone was still running it at those settings with a custom loop.

I ran it at 4.85 GHz until I sold it in early 2015.

The early-run 8350's and the Visheras on the market now are totally different animals. I had a GOOD 8350 for the time; it could do the 9590 settings stable on less vcore than a real 9590. If you got an 8350 that couldn't do better than that now, you'd be sorely disappointed.

As far as pairing one up with a 390X, I wouldn't want to unless it was running at 5 GHz or better.
 

·
curmudgeon
Joined
·
5,930 Posts
This is just a quick glimpse early on before the GPU has had a chance to warm up to over 70C, but it shows WoT at stock settings with FXAA working @ 1920 X 1080.



OP: Keep tinkering with settings, but mainly go for multi and only after you take that as far as you can, then play with FSB.
 
1 - 19 of 19 Posts
Top