Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, i'm a complete noob when it comes to overclocking. I just got this Geforce FX 5200 card, PCI version, I was wondering what methods I can use to incrase my performance? Is it possible to overclock this card, and shoudl i be using the drivers form the Nvidea web page or elsewhere? thanks in advance

·
Premium Member
3,804 Posts
www.guru3d.com This will give you coolbits. Its a registry hack that will let you overclock your nvidia card. Go to advanced settings then to clock frequency settings(after you installed coolbits) then start uping the core/memory frequencies. Keep ocing until you get artifacts( screen is all messed up) then turn down your core clock until the artifacts go away. That will be your best overclock. Good luck!

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks for the link, i'll definetely try that out. but i was looking into the Omega drivers, should i be using these instead of the Nvidia ones?

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
im on the guru3d page right now, im not sure which coolbits program i need exactly? there is one that is simply called Coolbits, it says its for use with the detonator drivers, and there is Forceware coolbits 2.0, and NVTweak (coolbits 3d)

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
ignore that last post, i got the clock frequency settings in my nvidia options now. its currently set to "no overclocking", and in a copule ghosted boxes its at 250 mhz for the core clock, and 400 mhz for the memory clock. ive nevr done this beofre and i'm a little nervous, can i mess things up here?

·
Premium Member
3,804 Posts
Not really just adjust the clocks in ten mhz increments. After you up it 10 play a game and look for artifatcs. Youll know when you see them. Keep uping it until you get the best fequencies with no artifacts.

·
Premium Member
45,674 Posts
Hope it has a fan on the heat sink!!!