Overclock.net banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi,

I'm new at Oc, wanted to ask couple of questions about my card..
I got Geforce 5700le 256mb 128bit of GigaByte.

I Oc mine instead of 250\\400 to 310\\500, and i want to flash my card to
Geforce FX5700NU bios or even to Geforce 5700Ultra..
Now the questions
:

1)I've noticed that there's a bios for 5700Ultra just for 128MB and my card has 256mb, that's matter\\important?? (i got also a bios for 5700Nu with 256mb so i can do it instead..if it's not possible to add a bios of 5700Ultra with 128mb)

2)For flashing his bios to 5700Nu or Ultra i have to put My clocks (5700le clocks) on the same clocks that 5700Nu or Ultra has?

3)I really don't know how to flash a bios so i appreciate that if someone could help me with that on MSN or something (or even here
)

Thanks alot for reading this, hope u could help me...

·
Premium Member
7,252 Posts
I've registered on this site just to answear y'r question. I have had a 5700le 256Mb since a year ago, but to tell you the truth I didn't remember what the default clocks were since it was oced from day 1.
Right now I run 470MHz Gpu and 480Mhz Mem, but it works well, not too hot until 525/480 Gpu/Mem.

How does it work? I remember that I copied the bios from my board using a soft "nVflash.exe". After that I used a windows based utility NIBItor that modifies nVidia bioses and changed only the 3D clocks to 350Gpu and 400Mem. I don't advise you to go for very high values in the bios, you can oc further with coolbits in windows.
You save the modified bios, and you can flash it back on your card using nVflash.

I really don't think you can have better results by flashing a 5700nu bios. You may have problems with the memory timings as the 5700nu bios you are flashing may support other memory settings, besides the frequency.
The 5700Ultra supports ddr2 or ddr3 memory as far as I remember, so it's never going to work on your card.