Overclock.net banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello!
I'm new to the overclocking world. Long story short, I have an old-ish system and not enough money to build a new one; so I resort to voiding warranties and playing with fire. Anyway I am running a 5 y/o system with a Gigabyte MA770DS3 rev. 1.0, BIOS version 8f.

I've managed to overclock my Phenom 9600, from 2.3 GHz, to 2.65 GHz by setting the core frequency to 231 MHz, and the vcore to +0.050v, and giving the control of the multiplier to the board, which which keeps it at 11.5 by default. I have put the system, under an 11 minute, a couple of 2 hour, and few 6 hour stability tests using AMD Overdrive, and it completed them with no errors or BSoDs.

I'm posting because of my board's annoying habit of often, and seemingly very randomly telling me that "POST error Occurs!" (gotta love the gigabyte bad translations). It tells me that its currently running in safe mode, and gives me options to boot anyway, adjust CMOS settings, boot with last known good configuration, load previous settings, etc. Invariably, it returns the clock frequency to "auto" (200 Mhz), and leaves the voltage, at my settings.

As I said before, this is random. sometimes it boots with no problems, and other times (about half the time, maybe more. like I said. random) it freaks all the heck out. Also as mentioned above I've run the system through multiple stability tests, all of which pass with no problem, so I don't see any harm. Am I wrong? could BIOS see something that both I, and AMD Overdrive have missed? If not, is there any way to get this problem to stop? It's not terrible, but it IS REALLY annoying, and a major inconvenience. any help would be greatly appreciated. I've tried to be very thorough in my post, but please let me know if I've left out any information you need to help me out.

thanks in advance!

·
Registered
248 Posts