Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 612 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
180 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
<a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/3074359/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="3074359" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/3074359/width/250/height/59/flags/LL" style="; width: 250px; height: 59px"></a><br><br><b><span style="font-size:9px;"><span style="font-size:16px;"><span style="color:#ff0000;">Welcome to the Gigabyte X299 AORUS Gaming Seires Motherboard overclocking thread.<br></span></span></span></b><br><b><span style="font-size:9px;"><span style="font-size:16px;">You are welcomed to post your questions and your solutions here related to the Gigabyte X299 Motherboards.</span></span></b>
<hr class="bbcode_rule"><a class="bbcode_url" href="https://goo.gl/forms/6Z5i0yQpSVAfLHoz1" target="_blank"><b><span style="font-size:16px;"><span style="font-size:24px;"><span style="color:#008B00;">Click here to submit your overclock result</span></span></span></b></a><br><a class="bbcode_url" href="https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1A0itFycsm4utN1nUqXoIl95nZHQhbrzSGINKD_Ifezs/pubhtml?gid=1912243570&single=true" target="_blank"><span style="font-size:24px;"><b><span style="color:#1084cc;">Click here to see submitted results</span></b></span></a>
<hr class="bbcode_rule"><b><span style="font-size:12px;"><span style="color:#2a7443;">Click the links below to go to the page of:</span></span></b><br><b><span style="font-size:9px;"><span style="font-size:12px;"><a class="bbcode_url" href="http://www.gigabyte.us/Motherboard/Intel-X299" target="_blank">Official Gigabyte X299 Motheboard page</a></span></span></b><br><b><span style="font-size:9px;"><span style="font-size:12px;"><a class="bbcode_url" href="http://www.gigabyte.us/Motherboard/X299-UD4-rev-10#kf" target="_blank">X299 X299 UD4 Motheboard (rev. 1.0)</a></span></span></b><br><b><span style="font-size:9px;"><span style="font-size:12px;"><a class="bbcode_url" href="http://www.gigabyte.us/Motherboard/X299-AORUS-Gaming-3-rev-10#kf" target="_blank">X299 AORUS Gaming 3 Motherboard (rev. 1.0)</a></span></span></b><br><b><span style="font-size:9px;"><span style="font-size:12px;"><a class="bbcode_url" href="http://www.gigabyte.us/Motherboard/X299-AORUS-Gaming-7-rev-10#kf" target="_blank">X299 AORUS Gaming 7 Motherboard (rev. 1.0)</a></span></span></b><br><b><span style="font-size:9px;"><span style="font-size:12px;"><a class="bbcode_url" href="http://www.gigabyte.us/Motherboard/X299-AORUS-Gaming-9-rev-10#kf" target="_blank">X299 AORUS Gaming 9 Motherboard (rev. 1.0)</a></span></span></b><br><b><span style="font-size:9px;"><span style="font-size:12px;"><a class="bbcode_url" href="http://www.gigabyte.us/Motherboard/X299-AORUS-Ultra-Gaming-rev-10#kf" target="_blank">X299 AORUS Ultra Gaming Motherboard (rev. 1.0)</a></span></span></b>
<hr class="bbcode_rule"><b><span style="font-size:9px;"><span style="font-size:12px;"><span style="color:#af0e8f;">Here is the information of the latest BIOS. You can also find it on <a class="bbcode_url" href="http://forum.gigabyte.us/board/38/x299" target="_blank">Gigabyte Official X299 thread</a> and support download page.</span></span></span></b><br><br><span style="font-size:12px;"><b><span style="color:#008B00;">Official Latest BIOS:(Updated 8/23/17)</span></b></span><br>
X299 AORUS Gaming 7: <a class="bbcode_url" href="http://www.gigabyte.us/Motherboard/X299-AORUS-Gaming-7-rev-10#support-dl" target="_blank">F7m</a><br><b><span style="color:#008B00;">Change log:</span></b><br>
1. Enhanced OC compatibility<br>
2. Intel® VROC ready<br>
3. Enhance i7-7800X DDR Overclocking<br>
4. Improve XMP DDR compatibility<br>
5. Improve TjMax offset option<br><br><span style="font-size:12px;"><b><span style="color:#008B00;">Latest BETA BIOS:(Updated 8/8/17)</span></b></span><br>
X299 AORUS Gaming 9: <a class="bbcode_url" href="https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B8Zcz-zc7YfFUHVscXBiR0U5ZU0/view" target="_blank">F6L</a><br><b><span style="color:#008B00;">Change log:</span></b><br>
Change Log:<br>
Fixed MESH sleep bug<br><br><span style="font-size:12px;"><b><span style="color:#008B00;">Latest BETA BIOS:(Updated 7/26/17)</span></b></span><br>
X299 AORUS Gaming 3: <a class="bbcode_url" href="https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B6AQ-0rz14D5Ni1ybXFpQ1NsLXM/view" target="_blank">F6I</a><br>
X299 AORUS Gaming 7: <a class="bbcode_url" href="https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B6AQ-0rz14D5eUV1ZU55eTJyU1k/view" target="_blank">F7I</a><br>
X299 AORUS Gaming 9: <a class="bbcode_url" href="https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B6AQ-0rz14D5VG9SRFRIVXpmRTg/view" target="_blank">F6I</a><br><b><span style="color:#008B00;">Change log:</span></b><br>
Fixed TB3 menu disappearing in BIOS<br>
TJMax offset adjustments:<br>
Max chip spec TJMax is 120C. This is the baseline.<br>
GIGABYTE max TJMax is 105C. This is the ceiling.<br>
Default TJMax is 95C.<br>
TJMax offset formula is: 120 - TJMax offset = TJMax in Windows. Thus to set TJMax in windows to 100, set<br>
TJMax offset to 20 (120-20=100).<br>
If you set TJMax offset to less than 15 you will see a TJMax in windows for 105C.
<hr class="bbcode_rule"><span style="font-size:12px;"><b>BETA BIOS:(Updated 7/21/17)</b></span><br>
X299 AORUS Gaming 3: <a class="bbcode_url" href="https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B6AQ-0rz14D5aTZFUFFBOUtWbVE/view" target="_blank">F6H</a><br>
X299 AORUS Gaming 7: <a class="bbcode_url" href="https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B_FwpcFlrvjpa3ktc3I1NndEMG8/view" target="_blank">F7e</a><br>
X299 AORUS Gaming 9: <a class="bbcode_url" href="https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B6AQ-0rz14D5ZkFnMHFYcUJaaHM/view" target="_blank">F6H</a><br><br><span style="font-size:12px;"><b>BETA BIOS:(Updated 7/20/17)</b></span><br>
X299 AORUS Gaming 3: <a class="bbcode_url" href="https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B6AQ-0rz14D5cW5jT2lpRUpzalE/view" target="_blank">F6F</a><br>
X299 AORUS Gaming 9: <a class="bbcode_url" href="https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B6AQ-0rz14D5UEEzZUlVSEJNVWs/view" target="_blank">F6F</a><br>
X299 AORUS Ultra Gaming: <a class="bbcode_url" href="https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B8DieescRp-vRWYzNDNCV2JPbHM/view" target="_blank">F3C</a><br><br><span style="font-size:12px;"><b>BETA BIOS:(Updated 7/7/17)</b></span><br>
X299 AORUS Gaming 3: <a class="bbcode_url" href="https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B8DieescRp-vVGZTWjlVSHgtajg/view" target="_blank">F6D</a><br>
X299 AORUS Gaming 7: <a class="bbcode_url" href="https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B6AQ-0rz14D5bU5kbzFEZ1QzSmc/view" target="_blank">F7A</a><br>
X299 AORUS Gaming 9: <a class="bbcode_url" href="https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B8DieescRp-vamtaQ251aU05N00/view" target="_blank">F6E</a><br>
X299 AORUS Ultra Gaming: <a class="bbcode_url" href="https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B8DieescRp-vdDhXM2p3RzJwM1k/view" target="_blank">F3A</a><br><br><span style="font-size:12px;"><b>Latest Production BIOS:(Updated 6/27/17)</b></span><br>
X299 AORUS Gaming 3: <a class="bbcode_url" href="https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B6AQ-0rz14D5ZlhjbkdKTmExS1E/view" target="_blank">F5</a><br>
X299 AORUS Gaming 7: <a class="bbcode_url" href="https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B6AQ-0rz14D5bE9PM0tRLTUyMDg/view" target="_blank">F6</a><br>
X299 AORUS Gaming 9: <a class="bbcode_url" href="https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B6AQ-0rz14D5aFNBWmhEQ2JVcGs/view" target="_blank">F5</a><br><br><span style="font-size:12px;"><b>Older BETA BIOS:</b></span><br>
X299 AORUS Gaming 3: <a class="bbcode_url" href="https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B6AQ-0rz14D5aTVocDc4bE42Yk0/view" target="_blank">F5J</a> | F6A<br>
X299 AORUS Gaming 7: <a class="bbcode_url" href="https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B6AQ-0rz14D5dGxNeHV1MUUwbU0/view" target="_blank">F6H</a><br>
X299 AORUS Gaming 9: <a class="bbcode_url" href="https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B6AQ-0rz14D5QkZLenBJQUlsUUE/view" target="_blank">F5K</a> | <a class="bbcode_url" href="https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B6AQ-0rz14D5T3YyZ291ZXR3U1E/view" target="_blank">F6A</a><br>
X299 AORUS Ultra Gaming: <a class="bbcode_url" href="https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B6AQ-0rz14D5RmlIZ0ZjSDEzdGc/view" target="_blank">F2A</a><br><hr class="bbcode_rule"><b><span style="font-size:12px;"><span style="color:#008B00;">For those looking for an easy breakdown of the PCIe lanes we just created a X299 configuration tool.<br><a class="bbcode_url" href="http://www.gigabyte.us/WebPage/-476/x299.html" target="_blank">Click here to use the X299 PCIe Lanes Configuration Tool.</a></span></span></b><br>
Posted by Matt
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
180 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
<span style="font-size:12px;"><b>FAQ for latest BIOS updated 7/7/17</b></span><br><br><b><span style="font-size:9px;"><span style="font-size:12px;"><span style="color:#4b12aa;">Q: What is "Enhanced Multi-Core Performance Mode"?</span></span></span></b><br><span style="color:#ff0000;">A: Intel Turbo Boost 3.0 picks two cores to run at 45x, the rest will run 40x. With EMCP all cores will be boosted to 45x.</span><br><br><b><span style="font-size:9px;"><span style="font-size:12px;"><span style="color:#4b12aa;">Q: Isn't that the same as overclocking?</span></span></span></b><br><span style="color:#ff0000;">A: Yes and no. Typically when overclocking users have to sacrifice using P-states. This creates excess heat when idle. EMCP keeps all the power saving features but pushes Turbo 3.0 to all cores when under load.</span><br><br><b><span style="font-size:9px;"><span style="font-size:12px;"><span style="color:#4b12aa;">Q: What about power modes, which should I use when testing?</span></span></span></b><br><span style="color:#ff0000;">A: Both balanced and high performance power modes will work with EMCP.</span>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
180 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
<span style="color:#008B00;"><span style="font-size:24px;"><b>Recommended stress testing software:<br><br>
Prime v26.6 for Non-AVX<br>
Prime v28.x for AVX<br>
Prime v29.x for AVX512<br><br>
Many people here are using Prime 95 for testing. For a good load work, running your system with Prime95 v26.6 at 1344K is the first step. Using this setting can also let you get a good comparison to other people's testing results.</b></span></span>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
180 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
<b><span style="font-size:16px;"><span style="color:#008B00;">Updated:<br><a class="bbcode_url" href="https://youtu.be/GbOUv-f_MQs" target="_blank">Click here to go to the overclocking guide video for Gigabyte X299 Series Motherboards!</a></span></span></b><br><br><b><span style="color:#28a056;"><span style="font-size:12px;">Hi, all. I just made a video playlist of running 10-min Prime95 Stress Test with my i9-7900X.</span></span></b><br><br><a class="bbcode_url" href="https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLokRGw-jw_1G5KPwNgAWDIMikmJDbidaW" target="_blank"><b><span style="color:#af0e8f;"><span style="font-size:12px;">Click here to reach The Youtube Playlist and watch the video of overclock stress test</span></span></b></a><br><br><b><span style="color:#ff0000;"><span style="font-size:12px;"><b>Latest Updates:</b></span></span></b><br>
I have uploaded the first video - 10 cores @4.0GHz. 7/11/2017<br><br>
More videos will be uploaded soon...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Hi all,<br><br>
Waiting for a x299 Gaming 9 MB and Silicon Lottery i9 7900x delid to arrive. Will share my results ASAP.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
180 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1633978/official-gigabyte-x299-series-motherboard-overclocking-thread#post_26215161" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>hollowK</strong> <a href="/t/1633978/official-gigabyte-x299-series-motherboard-overclocking-thread#post_26215161"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
Hi all,<br><br>
Waiting for a x299 Gaming 9 MB and Silicon Lottery i9 7900x delid to arrive. Will share my results ASAP.</div>
</div>
Oh. You got an i9-7900X pre-delidded processor from Silicon Lottery? You are so lucky bro. I ordered my 7900X online once it was available. I even didn't know there is someone selling pre-delidded CPU until I went to the V299 VRM disaster thread.<br><br>
Currently there is no delid tool for LGA-2066 processor available in the market. For what I know so far, there are two confirmed delid tools for SkyLake-X and KabyLake-X LGA-2066 CPUs.<br><br><a class="bbcode_url" href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cCv7hF7kepU" target="_blank"><span style="color:#008B00;"><b>Delid Die Mate X(Click to watch the video of delidding a LGA-2066 processor)</b></span></a><br><br><a class="bbcode_url" href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m8naTXpIUzY&t=1s" target="_blank"><span style="color:#008B00;"><b>Delid Master(Click to watch the video of delidding a LGA-2066 processor)</b></span></a><br><br>
Delid Die Mate X may be the delid tool only for SkyLake-X and KabyLake-X LGA-2066 CPUs like 7740X and 7900X.<br><br>
Delid Master, as what the video shows, is width adjustable, which means it can also be used for KabyLake and SkyLake like 6700K and 7700K.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
180 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
<a class="bbcode_url" href="http://www.overclock.net/f/18068/silicon-lottery"><span style="color:#008B00;"><b>Click here to go to the official thread if you are interested in Pre-Delidded Processors(run by Silicon Lottery).</b></span></a><br><br><a class="bbcode_url" href="https://siliconlottery.com/collections/all" target="_blank"><span style="color:#008B00;"><b>Click here to go to the Official Silicon Lottery Website for ordering Pre-Delidded Processors like Ryzen/7800X/7820X/7900X or service of delidding your CPUs.</b></span></a>
 

·
Overclocker
Joined
·
647 Posts
Anyone know if there are any differences between the gaming 7 and 9? I know the 9 has the led thing on the rear i/o along with covers for the back of the board and m2 slots. Is there anything as far as performance is concerned that would make the 9 worth the extra $100? This will be getting paired with a binned SL 7900x when i can get one.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Both the gaming 7 and 9 have backlit I/O plates<br><br>
Audio chips are different:<br><br><b>Gaming 9</b> : 127dB SNR AMP-UP Audio with High-End ESS SABRE 9018K2M DAC, LME 49720 and OPA1622 OP-AMP, WIMA audio capacitor<br><b>Gaming 7</b> : 121dB SNR AMP-UP Audio with ALC1220 & High-End ESS SABRE 9018 DAC with WIMA audio capacitor<br><br>
and the 9 comes with an additional (digital?) RGB LED strip to place inside your case.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
409 Posts
Also extra m.2 heat shields plus a pcie m.2 expand card with shield. And a backplate that appears to be for astetics only<br><div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1633978/gigabyte-x299-series-motherboard-overclocking-thread#post_26215352" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>Edge0fsanity</strong> <a href="/t/1633978/gigabyte-x299-series-motherboard-overclocking-thread#post_26215352"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
Anyone know if there are any differences between the gaming 7 and 9? I know the 9 has the led thing on the rear i/o along with covers for the back of the board and m2 slots. Is there anything as far as performance is concerned that would make the 9 worth the extra $100? This will be getting paired with a binned SL 7900x when i can get one.</div>
</div>
<br><div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1633978/gigabyte-x299-series-motherboard-overclocking-thread#post_26215377" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>hollowK</strong> <a href="/t/1633978/gigabyte-x299-series-motherboard-overclocking-thread#post_26215377"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
Both the gaming 7 and 9 have backlit I/O plates<br><br>
Audio chips are different:<br><br><b>Gaming 9</b> : 127dB SNR AMP-UP Audio with High-End ESS SABRE 9018K2M DAC, LME 49720 and OPA1622 OP-AMP, WIMA audio capacitor<br><b>Gaming 7</b> : 121dB SNR AMP-UP Audio with ALC1220 & High-End ESS SABRE 9018 DAC with WIMA audio capacitor<br><br>
and the 9 comes with an additional (digital?) RGB LED strip to place inside your case.</div>
</div>
 

·
Hardware Enthusiast
Joined
·
647 Posts
Just a heads up to anyone using these Gigabyte motherboards. The current BIOS at default settings does not properly apply the AVX and AVX512 offsets.<br><br>
The current BIOS allows the processor to all-core turbo up to 4.0 GHz and single-core turbo up to 4.5 GHz. This is not to spec since 4.0 GHz all-core AVX512 on the 7900X will either <a class="bbcode_url" href="http://www.overclock.net/t/1634045/skylake-x-phantom-throttling">phantom throttle</a> or pull 300W. And 4.5 GHz AVX512 may be unstable.<br><br>
So for my 7900X, the system (running all stock settings) would crash or BSOD on single-threaded AVX512 since the weaker of the two "preferred cores" is unstable @ 4.5 GHz on AVX512 with stock voltages.<br><br>
Until Gigabyte fixes this, I recommend manually entering an AVX offset of 2 and an AVX512 offset of 4. (Though Silicon Lottery mentioned in an email to me that the stock offsets are supposed to be 3 and 5 respectively.)<br><br>
Even if you never intend to run any AVX or AVX512, I suggest applying these offsets anyway since you never know when an application may actually use them.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
180 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1633978/gigabyte-x299-series-motherboard-overclocking-thread#post_26215352" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>Edge0fsanity</strong> <a href="/t/1633978/gigabyte-x299-series-motherboard-overclocking-thread#post_26215352"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
Anyone know if there are any differences between the gaming 7 and 9? I know the 9 has the led thing on the rear i/o along with covers for the back of the board and m2 slots. Is there anything as far as performance is concerned that would make the 9 worth the extra $100? This will be getting paired with a binned SL 7900x when i can get one.</div>
</div>
These are only for 9 compared to 7:<br>
1. M.2 to U.2 card;<br>
2. PCIE card for additional M.2(four M.2 slots totally);<br>
3. Two additional M.2 shields(9 has all three shields and 7 only has one shiled, check pic on official site);<br>
4. Audio Card;<br>
5. Base plate(something like a cover at the back of the motherboard);
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
180 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1633978/gigabyte-x299-series-motherboard-overclocking-thread/10#post_26215634" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>Mysticial</strong> <a href="/t/1633978/gigabyte-x299-series-motherboard-overclocking-thread/10#post_26215634"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
Just a heads up to anyone using these Gigabyte motherboards. The current BIOS at default settings does not properly apply the AVX and AVX512 offsets.<br><br>
The current BIOS allows the processor to all-core turbo up to 4.0 GHz and single-core turbo up to 4.5 GHz. This is not to spec since 4.0 GHz all-core AVX512 on the 7900X will either <a class="bbcode_url" href="http://www.overclock.net/t/1634045/skylake-x-phantom-throttling">phantom throttle</a> or pull 300W. And 4.5 GHz AVX512 may be unstable.<br><br>
So for my 7900X, the system (running all stock settings) would crash or BSOD on single-threaded AVX512 since the weaker of the two "preferred cores" is unstable @ 4.5 GHz on AVX512 with stock voltages.<br><br>
Until Gigabyte fixes this, I recommend manually entering an AVX offset of 2 and an AVX512 offset of 4. (Though Silicon Lottery mentioned in an email to me that the stock offsets are supposed to be 3 and 5 respectively.)<br><br>
Even if you never intend to run any AVX or AVX512, I suggest applying these offsets anyway since you never know when an application may actually use them.</div>
</div>
Did you flash the latest BIOS? Check the updated changes info: Gigabyte added <span style="color:#008B00;"><b>"Enhanced Multi-core Performance"</b> allowing users to set all cores to match turbo ratio like x45.</span> Also, check the <span style="color:#008B00;">FAQ</span> please. It says <span style="color:#008B00;">Intel Turbo Boost 3.0 picks two cores to run at 45x, the rest will run 40x. <b>With EMCP all cores will be boosted to 45x.</b></span><br><br>
But always, to run all cores @4.5GHz, you have to make sure your cores won't go overheat. Or, the overheat protection will be applied. This may require high-end cooling system or a delidded cpu.
 

·
Hardware Enthusiast
Joined
·
647 Posts
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1633978/gigabyte-x299-series-motherboard-overclocking-thread/10#post_26216150" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>CuewarsTaner</strong> <a href="/t/1633978/gigabyte-x299-series-motherboard-overclocking-thread/10#post_26216150"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
Did you flash the latest BIOS? Check the updated changes info: Gigabyte added <span style="color:#008B00;"><b>"Enhanced Multi-core Performance"</b> allowing users to set all cores to match turbo ratio like x45.</span> Also, check the <span style="color:#008B00;">FAQ</span> please. It says <span style="color:#008B00;">Intel Turbo Boost 3.0 picks two cores to run at 45x, the rest will run 40x. <b>With EMCP all cores will be boosted to 45x.</b></span><br><br>
But always, to run all cores @4.5GHz, you have to make sure your cores won't go overheat. Or, the overheat protection will be applied. This may require high-end cooling system or a delidded cpu.</div>
</div>
<br>
I'm currently using F7a - the latest non-beta.<br><br>
The issue with the AVX offsets isn't about the 45x turbo. It's about the "Auto" settings for the AVX/AVX512 offsets being completely messed up.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
180 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1633978/gigabyte-x299-series-motherboard-overclocking-thread/10#post_26216202" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>Mysticial</strong> <a href="/t/1633978/gigabyte-x299-series-motherboard-overclocking-thread/10#post_26216202"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
I'm currently using F7a - the latest non-beta.<br><br>
The issue with the AVX offsets isn't about the 45x turbo. It's about the "Auto" settings for the AVX/AVX512 offsets being completely messed up.</div>
</div>
Did you turn AVX and AVX512 to 2 and 4? What can you get from these AVX settings?
 

·
Hardware Enthusiast
Joined
·
647 Posts
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1633978/gigabyte-x299-series-motherboard-overclocking-thread/10#post_26216206" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>CuewarsTaner</strong> <a href="/t/1633978/gigabyte-x299-series-motherboard-overclocking-thread/10#post_26216206"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
Did you turn AVX and AVX512 to 2 and 4? What can you get from these AVX settings?</div>
</div>
<br>
If you manually set the AVX and AVX512 offsets, the BIOS will do the right thing. As in drop the multiplier by exactly that amount compared to normal code for that particular core. And by doing that, I can get the behavior I want.<br><br>
The problem is with the "Auto" settings. The "Auto" settings (all BIOS options at stock/default) applies zero offset for both AVX and AVX512 on both the 4.0 GHz all-core turbo as well as the 2-core 4.5 GHz turbo.<br><br>
OTOH, "Auto" doesn't mean zero. If you mess with some of the other settings, it may be non-zero. But it's inconsistent, and it never seems to apply the offset when it actually needs to.<br><br>
More context along with other people with the same problem: <a href="http://www.overclock.net/t/1632870/skylake-x-kaby-lake-x-combined-discussion/770#post_26214813">http://www.overclock.net/t/1632870/skylake-x-kaby-lake-x-combined-discussion/770#post_26214813</a>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
180 Posts
Discussion Starter #17
Yes, you are right. I checked the user manual(Page49) and it says Default:Auto, not zero. This will bring unstable number for AVX and AVX512 Offset because "Auto" means changing all the time. Silicon Lottery did AVX and AVX512 Offset at 3 and 5. You set them to 2 and 4. Did you see any obvious difference? Is it only a 0.1GHz difference for CPU frequency?
 

·
Hardware Enthusiast
Joined
·
647 Posts
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1633978/gigabyte-x299-series-motherboard-overclocking-thread/10#post_26216230" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>CuewarsTaner</strong> <a href="/t/1633978/gigabyte-x299-series-motherboard-overclocking-thread/10#post_26216230"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
Silicon Lottery did AVX and AVX512 Offset at 3 and 5. You set them to 2 and 4. Did you see any obvious difference? Is it only a 0.1GHz difference for CPU frequency?</div>
</div>
<br>
Yeah, the multiplier offset is exactly what it is - a multiplier offset. So I currently run my machine at 4.2/4.0/3.8 GHz all-core turbo. (scalar/AVX/AVX512) The all-core turbo is 42x, AVX and AVX512 offsets are 2 and 4 respectively.<br><br>
I have not tried to push the all-core scalar-code frequency beyond 4.2 GHz. Because of these offsets, we're basically doing 3 overclocks at once and there's no way to dial-down the voltages on a per-core/per-code-type basis. For example, let's say I can run all-core scalar-code @ 4.7 GHz. But to do that, I need to increase the vcore. But increasing the vcore will make my 3.8 GHz AVX512 overclock overheat.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
180 Posts
Discussion Starter #19
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1633978/gigabyte-x299-series-motherboard-overclocking-thread/10#post_26216250" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>Mysticial</strong> <a href="/t/1633978/gigabyte-x299-series-motherboard-overclocking-thread/10#post_26216250"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
Yeah, the multiplier offset is exactly what it is - a multiplier offset. So I currently run my machine at 4.2/4.0/3.8 GHz all-core turbo. (scalar/AVX/AVX512) The all-core turbo is 42x, AVX and AVX512 offsets are 2 and 4 respectively.<br><br>
I have not tried to push the all-core scalar-code frequency beyond 4.2 GHz. Because of these offsets, we're basically doing 3 overclocks at once and there's no way to dial-down the voltages on a per-core/pre-code-type basis. For example, let's say I can run all-core scalar-code @ 4.7 GHz. But to do that, I need to increase the vcore. But increasing the vcore will make my 3.8 GHz AVX512 overclock overheat.</div>
</div>
Are you running Intel Turbo or locked all-sync frequency?
 

·
Hardware Enthusiast
Joined
·
647 Posts
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1633978/gigabyte-x299-series-motherboard-overclocking-thread/10#post_26216257" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>CuewarsTaner</strong> <a href="/t/1633978/gigabyte-x299-series-motherboard-overclocking-thread/10#post_26216257"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
Are you running Intel Turbo or locked all-sync frequency?</div>
</div>
<br>
Individual:<br><ul class="bbcode_list"><li>1-2 cores: 4.5 GHz (4.3 AVX, 4.1 AVX512)</li>
<li>3-4 cores: 4.3 GHz (4.1 AVX, 3.9 AVX512)</li>
<li>5-10 cores: 4.2 GHz (4.0 AVX, 3.8 AVX512)</li>
</ul><br>
I kept the max turbo per core the same. So only the two "preferred cores" are allowed to reach 4.5 GHz. But any core is still allowed to do 4.3 AVX and 4.1 AVX512. IOW, the per-core turbo limit is applied *after* the AVX/AVX512 offsets.
 
1 - 20 of 612 Posts
Top