Overclock.net banner

12121 - 12140 of 14585 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
29 Posts
I don’t know what change in F31k, when I tested specifically 1900fclk the WHEA errrors are gone, but now when I try to boot With 1900 fclk and mclk, I run into the 07 LED error again no matter what soc, VDDG or VDDP voltage I use, the same issue I ran into in F31e.

In F31g, I can actually boot into windows, but obviously with a bunch of WHEA errors. I am going to wait for another BIOs, since I know with F31g that my memory controller could handle 1900 for fclk and mclk but something was reverted in F31k.
 

·
Old crazy guy
Joined
·
2,151 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
73 Posts
GDM disable still gives me errors so I have to leave that enabled but not sure if I should try lowering other timings I just basically used what dram calculator showed and so far so good.

2466323
 

·
B.O.W
Joined
·
26,977 Posts
Hey all

This is my first AMD build.
I have a 5600X with a x570 elite mobo.

Any recommended bios settings that I should enable right off the bat? I did XMP on the ram of course. I don't intend to overclock yet since I'm stuck with the wraith cooler until I can find a waterblock replacement
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
18 Posts
GDM disable still gives me errors so I have to leave that enabled but not sure if I should try lowering other timings I just basically used what dram calculator showed and so far so good.

View attachment 2466323
Try raising your DRAM voltage to 1.480
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
159 Posts
I haven't checked-in on the latest BIOS for this board in quite some time. Still running F12, which seems to be the most solid long-term.

Is my read accurate, based on skimming the last few recent pages of this thread, that the new BIOS is still pretty rough?
 

·
Registered
AMD 5900x, MSI Trio X 3090 500W, Aorus X570 Master, Patriot Viper 4400 4x8gb, 2x1TB nvm4, Kraken X73
Joined
·
60 Posts
Tried IF2100 with F31k and it works, well it didn´t crashed and throws about same amount wheas as IF2000. But speed was lower, is it because it´s too much for motherboard or there is some voltages what I can change? (Actually already tried lower-higher VSOC, VDDP, VDDG, but result was always slow perfomance)
2466349

Here is CPU-id AMD Ryzen 9 5900X @ 4698.9 MHz - CPU-Z VALIDATOR

But IF2033 seems to working fine and RAM was faster than with IF2000
2466350


IF2000 RAM benchmark
2466351


Can it be RAM issue? DRAM calculator does´t have 2100MHz and when I change timings to 17-17-17-17-34 system wont boot. Any ideas?
 

·
Old crazy guy
Joined
·
2,151 Posts
Tried IF2100 with F31k and it works, well it didn´t crashed and throws about same amount wheas as IF2000. But speed was lower, is it because it´s too much for motherboard or there is some voltages what I can change? (Actually already tried lower-higher VSOC, VDDP, VDDG, but result was always slow perfomance)
View attachment 2466349
Here is CPU-id AMD Ryzen 9 5900X @ 4698.9 MHz - CPU-Z VALIDATOR

But IF2033 seems to working fine and RAM was faster than with IF2000
View attachment 2466350

IF2000 RAM benchmark
View attachment 2466351

Can it be RAM issue? DRAM calculator does´t have 2100MHz and when I change timings to 17-17-17-17-34 system wont boot. Any ideas?
I guess you have to wait for the new AGESA.
The latency at 27.4 with 4200 MHz seems too good to be true.
 
  • Rep+
Reactions: Kha

·
Registered
Joined
·
308 Posts
There is no manual or documentation on these codes, I've searched everywhere. A GUY OVER HERE posted a list of post codes, but it's not very helpful. I just watch the behaviour and get a feel of what the board is trying telling me. Sometimes you don't need to know what they mean and even the explanation is most of the time useless, you just need to know what tripped that code and get a feel for the system.

There's only a handful of codes you need to know AA,A0 normal, F9 0d memory, 07 can be the memory controller or FCLK, FCLK is more common I find but this generally means the board doesn't like your settings and you need to try again, d3 F8 are utility codes like monitoring or overclocking, 30 and 40 are resume from sleep state. Other codes are meaningless.
Here:

Does anyone remember if the option to change "BankGroupSwap" and "BankGroupSwapAlt" is available in F12 BIOS? Where?
 

·
Registered
AMD 5900x, MSI Trio X 3090 500W, Aorus X570 Master, Patriot Viper 4400 4x8gb, 2x1TB nvm4, Kraken X73
Joined
·
60 Posts
Yeah, 27.4 was error, on screenshot AIDA latency test was 71.3ns
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
211 Posts
Here:

Does anyone remember if the option to change "BankGroupSwap" and "BankGroupSwapAlt" is available in F12 BIOS? Where?
I've read that pdf, explanations aren't very helpful for F9 0d 07. I should have said there's no manuals and docs that are helpful.

BGS and BGSAlt are in F20 and later. It's in AMD CBS/UMC common options/DRAM memory mapping.

I set my 2x16 dual rank to BGS and I get slightly better read 59.3GB/s and write 58.2GB/s compared to BGSAlt 58.8 and 57.5.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
40 Posts
So unfortunately I'm not able to get my IF frequency booting at 1900 on my 5900x with x570 aorus master (memory works at 3800 no problem).

I've tried raising soc,vddg,procodt and none will even allow me to boot. Have I just got a bad bin or does anyone have any extra suggestions that I can try?

On bios f31k

Attached are my stable timings at 3600 @1.43 dram voltage
2466380
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
29 Posts
So unfortunately I'm not able to get my IF frequency booting at 1900 on my 5900x with x570 aorus master (memory works at 3800 no problem).

I've tried raising soc,vddg,procodt and none will even allow me to boot. Have I just got a bad bin or does anyone have any extra suggestions that I can try?

On bios f31k

Attached are my stable timings at 3600 @1.43 dram voltage
Read my previous post, I tried many different combo for the soc, vddg, vddp voltages and I can not boot into 1900. Does your mobo LED display 07 when you try to boot at 1900 fclk and mclk? F31g is the only bios where I can boot with 1900 for both clks but there are WHEA errors all over the place for that version.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
314 Posts
F31j is on Aorus Master page as well, but as PowerK said F31k is on Tweaktown... think I will sit this out until a final release is available (still on F31h).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
40 Posts
Read my previous post, I tried many different combo for the soc, vddg, vddp voltages and I can not boot into 1900. Does your mobo LED display 07 when you try to boot at 1900 fclk and mclk? F31g is the only bios where I can boot with 1900 for both clks but there are WHEA errors all over the place for that version.
Yeah displays 07 for me no matter what I change
Going to try the f31j just in case
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
54 Posts
Testing F31k for an hour, no WHEA errors at XMP"1800IF" and no errors at 1900IF..For the first time my setting from the previous processor 3600x work, ram timings ect...didnt test higher IF
Good work GB :D
Tested F31k for the weekend, no WHEA errors in AidaChaceBenchmark i got two WHEA errors playing games at 1900IF...Adjusted my LLC on medium, got one error in 2 hours, then LLC High, no errors...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
460 Posts
Call me crazy but i get more and more hints pointing towards CPU-cache related instabilities causing my RAM errors.

I significantly get more errors when using Karhu with cache stressing set to enabled (switched from default which only stresses it a bit).

Here is the FAQ about it straight from the website:



I got rid of my undervolting, that was always working with older BIOS versions, and switched to an +offset value with LLC Vdrooping to 1.32V and so far i am hammering my RAM with my old VSOC, VDDG, VDDP settings and still going strong...usually gave me errors in the first 5-20 minutes of the run when Cache option is set to Enabled.

Maybe have a look into that if you are still pulling out your hairs about "RAM" problems...
2466402


Old VSOC/VDDG/VDDP settings @ Karhu with Cache stressing enabled :)

Undervolting replaced with Offset+2 LLC High
 
12121 - 12140 of 14585 Posts
Top