Overclock.net banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
564 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys so I'm a total noob to this case modding scene but I am getting annoyed at my cable management and I need to do something about it. It literally took me almost two hours just to replace my stock fans with some orange Xigmateks earlier.

So I'm wondering if it's possible to work with my current PSU without buying a modular one and doing something like...

Turning it upside down so I can drill a hole right next to where the wires come out on my inside panel so the wires can go through there? There are two things that worry me about this.

1) I have about ~1.5 cm of room on my right side panel so if I stick all my cables behind my motherboard I don't think I can put my panel back on....

and

2) the fan that is normally on the top of the PSU will be at the bottom, which will require me to make another hole, but on top of that it doesn't seem very efficient since I have my case on the carpet and the entire PSU fan will basically be blocked/clogged

So should I just spend some money to get a modular PSU or try to get this one to work? Also, as you can see from the pictures, the lengths of some of the PSU cables are a bit short for my mobo so I had to get rid of some of my corner zip ties and let the cables come free

The area behind the hard drives is a complete mess lol I stuffed as many cables as possible beneath the hard drives

Thanks!

·
Registered
3,445 Posts
Alright, what you want to do its cut a hole next to the PSU so you can get all your cables between the case and the right side panel. Then cut some more holes near the top of the mobo tray so you can route your cables from behind and have them pop out where you need them.

Btw, I support the idea of modding the case to make the PSU work instead of blowing money for a new one

·
Registered
2,852 Posts
Non-modular PSU + Antec 900 = bad news for cable management.