Overclock.net banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,671 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, for all you interested in Gothic 3, I thought I'd take some pics from my system.<br><br>
Note: These pics are taken with everything on max besides shader quality(2.0 since my card doesn't have 3.0), Shadow quality on Medium(I put it on high but wheb I restart the game its back on medium,no clue why), and Post processing effect slidebar in the middle (on overglow). There are 2 options for post processing: overglow effect and overglow+depth of field. When I have it set to depthof it gives me geometrical box errors so I'm assuming sm2.0 cards can only do overbright (aka bloom [or hdr??])<br><br>
Anyway, here are the pics:<br><a href="http://assets.overclock.net.s3.amazonaws.com/a/a6/a626b68b_vbattach34425.jpeg"><img alt="LL" src="http://cdn.overclock.net/a/a6/525x525px-LL-a626b68b_vbattach34425.jpeg" style="width:525px;height:394px;"></a><br><a href="http://assets.overclock.net.s3.amazonaws.com/8/8e/8e82162b_vbattach34426.jpeg"><img alt="LL" src="http://cdn.overclock.net/8/8e/525x525px-LL-8e82162b_vbattach34426.jpeg" style="width:525px;height:394px;"></a><br><a href="http://assets.overclock.net.s3.amazonaws.com/3/32/32127893_vbattach34427.jpeg"><img alt="LL" src="http://cdn.overclock.net/3/32/525x525px-LL-32127893_vbattach34427.jpeg" style="width:525px;height:394px;"></a>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,671 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Also here is the screenie of the settings:<br><a href="http://assets.overclock.net.s3.amazonaws.com/0/0f/0f9f2479_vbattach34428.jpeg"><img alt="LL" src="http://cdn.overclock.net/0/0f/525x525px-LL-0f9f2479_vbattach34428.jpeg" style="width:525px;height:394px;"></a>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,046 Posts
Does your directx version say zero? That was an issue I had with the source engine before, and it always made my settings reset to low.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,671 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
<div style="margin:20px; margin-top:5px; ">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px">Quote:</div>
<table cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="99%">
<tr>
<td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset">

<div>
Originally Posted by <strong>killnine</strong>
<a href="showthread.php?s=d51c1a11b1f7d586c94ba64097780a71&p=1397375#post1397375" rel="nofollow"><img class="inlineimg" src="http://static.overclock.net//img/forum/go_quote.gif" border="0" alt="View Post" /></a>
</div>
<div style="font-style:italic">Does your directx version say zero? That was an issue I had with the source engine before, and it always made my settings reset to low.</div>

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>It's not resetting to low... Its just that you probably need sm3.0 for the 3 settings that I can't max out. Also Antialiasing would be great but there is no option in-game. Is there like a chuck patch or something for aa in g3?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,671 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Wow, no1 is interested at all in this game? Graphic wise it > Oblivion in the lighting and nature.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,369 Posts
GF and I were just discussing this game. I think I will pick it up. Thanks for posting the pics!!
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,049 Posts
You have a gf who likes games :O<br><br>
Wanna trade? ^^
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,095 Posts
Just force AA in your driver profiles...it could work as long as you're not using HDR.<br><br>
Oh, and BTW...that doesn't look better than Oblivion from what I see...but I guess I'm kinda bias comparing what I've seen on MY rig. Maybe If I played Gothic III over here, I'd be impressed..... (it does look pretty good, though)<br><br>
Is it fun?
 

·
Here longer than mods lol
Joined
·
3,795 Posts
Its quite a good game, very sore on the memory though, I get the same thing with it maxed out just stupid little square blobs, maybe time for an upgrade me thinks
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,369 Posts
<div style="margin:20px;margin-top:5px;">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px;">Quote:</div>
<table border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" width="99%"><tr><td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset;">
<div>Originally Posted by <strong>Niko-Time</strong> <a href="showthread.php?s=34ef0cf377f7f84bfe5f471f00791160&p=1420275#post1420275"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="http://static.overclock.net//img/forum/go_quote.gif" style="border:0px solid;"></a></div>
<div style="font-style:italic;">You have a gf who likes games :O<br><br>
Wanna trade? ^^</div>
</td>
</tr></table></div>
LOL Not a chance!!<br><br>
edit: And she can cook!!!!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,860 Posts
Looks better than Oblivion? I beg to differ.<br><br>
Oblivion looks better that on my rig, and im currently using a damn 6200....<br><br>
So no. Oblivion > all.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,671 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
<div style="margin:20px; margin-top:5px; ">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px">Quote:</div>
<table cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="99%">
<tr>
<td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset">

<div>
Originally Posted by <strong>Sideburns</strong>
<a href="showthread.php?s=edfa2901aee51764544b403423630948&p=1420287#post1420287" rel="nofollow"><img class="inlineimg" src="http://static.overclock.net//img/forum/go_quote.gif" border="0" alt="View Post" /></a>
</div>
<div style="font-style:italic">Just force AA in your driver profiles...it could work as long as you're not using HDR.<br />
<br />
Oh, and BTW...that doesn't look better than Oblivion from what I see...but I guess I'm kinda bias comparing what I've seen on MY rig. Maybe If I played Gothic III over here, I'd be impressed..... (it does look pretty good, though)<br />
<br />
Is it fun?</div>

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div><br />
Yeah it's fun especially if you like bartering and trading items for gold from the orcs you kill. However, seeing you havea gig of ram, it's not for you. I tried it with a gig and it was unplayable from HUGE studders. Another gig of ram makes a world of difference in this game.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,671 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
<div style="margin:20px; margin-top:5px; ">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px">Quote:</div>
<table cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="99%">
<tr>
<td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset">

<div>
Originally Posted by <strong>noxious89123</strong>
<a href="showthread.php?s=edfa2901aee51764544b403423630948&p=1420350#post1420350" rel="nofollow"><img class="inlineimg" src="http://static.overclock.net//img/forum/go_quote.gif" border="0" alt="View Post" /></a>
</div>
<div style="font-style:italic">Looks better than Oblivion? I beg to differ.<br />
<br />
Oblivion looks better that on my rig, and im currently using a damn 6200....<br />
<br />
So no. Oblivion > all.</div>

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>You have a 6200se TC. You seem to be very biased towards oblivion. Sure you can max it out at .5 fps per second, and then even, it doesn't look better than g3. Oblivion has mods that make it look better. This game does not yet. I am talking about the original obliv and orig g3. It DOES look better... maybe not the character himself, but the vegetation, trees, land, environment, lighting, all look superior.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
415 Posts
if you have a SM 3.0 card oblivion and gothic 3 are pretty comparable both in looks and taxing the **** out of your rig
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,671 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
<div style="margin:20px;margin-top:5px;">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px;">Quote:</div>
<table border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" width="99%"><tr><td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset;">
<div>Originally Posted by <strong>Rockin Z28</strong> <a href="showthread.php?s=edfa2901aee51764544b403423630948&p=1424086#post1424086"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="http://static.overclock.net//img/forum/go_quote.gif" style="border:0px solid;"></a></div>
<div style="font-style:italic;">if you have a SM 3.0 card oblivion and gothic 3 are pretty comparable both in looks and taxing the **** out of your rig</div>
</td>
</tr></table></div>
Oblivion does not look that good... it just taxes your system as you said. GOthic 3 actually looks a lot more polished with nice lighting and graphics, and taxes your card less. The only reason oblivion is so taxing is because its engine renders through walls. So basically if there is a house in front of your view. You only have the house on tour screen, oblivion lags. Why? Because it's rendering the things beyond the wall, decreasing performance by a huge amount.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
945 Posts
you guys can see my specs, I dont have a bad computer at all but for me the demo of Gothic 3 that I DL off of Fileplanet really lookeed like utter crap and ran pretty choppy. Also I am not saying this to biased towards Oblivion as the only Oblivion I have played was for the 360 and Oblivion for the 360 is the biggest PIECE OF CRAP ever with their ******ed level scaling.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
415 Posts
from what i hear it stutters a lot due to extreme memory demands
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,671 Posts
Discussion Starter #18
<div style="margin:20px; margin-top:5px; ">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px">Quote:</div>
<table cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="99%">
<tr>
<td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset">

<div>
Originally Posted by <strong>Rockin Z28</strong>
<a href="showthread.php?s=fb118d83aa0ea05832d812d721028acf&p=1427817#post1427817" rel="nofollow"><img class="inlineimg" src="http://static.overclock.net//img/forum/go_quote.gif" border="0" alt="View Post" /></a>
</div>
<div style="font-style:italic">from what i hear it stutters a lot due to extreme memory demands</div>

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div><br />
Like I said, with 1 gb, I couldn't play it at all because of studdering. With 2 gb, it feels VERY smooth with a studder here and there for a quarter of a sec.
 
1 - 18 of 18 Posts
Top