Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So my specs are:
Nvidia GTX 960 (latest update)
AMD FX 8320 eight-core processor, 3500MHz
2x 8GB Vengeance LP DDR3 DRAM 1600MHz
ASRock 970 Pro3 R2.0
And I play on a 1920x1080, 60MHz screen and a 1366x768 60MHz
Windows 10 Pro x64

So the issue is that since a while after about 2-4min of playing Battlefield 1 my FPS and GPU performance drops significantly. The first minute I have between 25-40FPS and 60-80% GPU, then after a few minutes the FPS drops to 15-25 and my GPU drops to 20-40%. My CPU usage is fine, usually around 60-70%

I have no issues playing Rainbow Six Siege, DOOM, Star Wars Battlefront. I play all of these games on ultra graphics including Battlefield 1, changing the graphics quality changes nothing to FPS or GPU performance. I tried benchmarking and I get an average of 52FPS, while benchmarking my GPU is mostly 99% and my CPU is around 80%.

The only games that are a pain are Battlefield 1, Saints Row IV and Total War: Warhammer. I also tried playing Blackwake but it's not that well optimalized so I don't fully trust my FPS on that game. While playing Warhammer the game and sound glitches out and stutters A LOT to the point where it's impossible to hear what's being said or what's going on.

Temperatures are fine, there's no throttle, I never overclocked my CPU or GPU or changed anything in my BIOS.

Is it possible that something is holding my GPU back? It worked fine until a week ago when I first noticed the issue with Battlefield 1, before that I was always able to run it with 30FPS no stutter or real drops.
 

·
Senior OCN Member
Joined
·
40,449 Posts
Your PSU might be holding your system back if you have one that is really crappy
You did not mention which PSU you have.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
10,167 Posts
No heasinks on the motherboard VRM's . Almost certainly throttling due to VRM or socket temps.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
10,167 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by levi1997 View Post

my psu is 750 w
4g vrm

what can i do to get my VRM temp down
Place a fan so that it blows directly onto them.
 

·
Senior OCN Member
Joined
·
40,449 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by levi1997 View Post

my psu is 750 w
Wattage does not tell us anything so please name the brand and model.
 

·
Meep
Joined
·
5,592 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by levi1997 View Post

my psu is aero cool xpredator 750 m
From what i can find, that's most likely not a very good PSU. I'd advice you to make a thread for advice on the PSU next time you build a PC. You could've gotten a much higher quality 500-600W unit for the same price, would've been much more reliable and less likely to cause random issues.

Although in this case, I also think that the VRM's overheating on your motherboard is more likely.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilles3000 View Post

From what i can find, that's most likely not a very good PSU. I'd advice you to make a thread for advice on the PSU next time you build a PC. You could've gotten a much higher quality 500-600W unit for the same price, would've been much more reliable and less likely to cause random issues.

Although in this case, I also think that the VRM's overheating on your motherboard is more likely.
is there a way to fix the overheating? until I can buy a better PSU that is
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
10,167 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by levi1997 View Post

i dit heaven benchmark and my gpu is mostly between 70 and 99 %
and my cpu is between 30 and 40 %
Primarily a graphics card bench not really a stress program.
 

·
Senior OCN Member
Joined
·
40,449 Posts
HEC is the OEM that makes the Xpredator series for AeroCool
Almost everything HEC makes is below average quality so in your case you got wattage instead of quality

I would recommend a better PSU as it will make your system run much better
You dont need more then a 650 watt PSU as long as you are not doing SLI or Crossfire

As for the VRM´s better/more air flow in your case might help so what case do you have?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
Quote:
Originally Posted by shilka View Post

HEC is the OEM that makes the Xpredator series for AeroCool
Almost everything HEC makes is below average quality so in your case you got wattage instead quality

I would recommend a better PSU as it will make your system run much better
You dont need more then a 650 watt PSU as long as you are not doing SLI or Crossfire

As for the VRM´s better/more air flow in your case might help so what case do you have?
I have a Sharkoon DG7000 case from which I removed the side panel today to hopefully allow better air flow. I'm not planning on doing SLI or crossfire anytime soon so I'll settle for a 650w PSU, which brand or PSU would you recommend?
 

·
Senior OCN Member
Joined
·
40,449 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by levi1997 View Post

I have a Sharkoon DG7000 case from which I removed the side panel today to hopefully allow better air flow. I'm not planning on doing SLI or crossfire anytime soon so I'll settle for a 650w PSU, which brand or PSU would you recommend?
Case does not look all that bad so how many fans do you have in the case and are the fan filters clean or full of dust?

As for the PSU it depends where you are from what you can find and what you can spend
If you can give me a link to a local seller/shop or website and a budget i can find something for you.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #18
I got 2 120mm fans in the front and 1 120mm fan in the back, they're all as clean as they can be, I don't have the proper equipment yet but I clean it every month at least

https://www.alternate.be/PCs/Stel-je-eigen-PC-samen/PC-Builder#!/category/0 This is the website I ordered all of my parts from, it's in Dutch however so you might want to translate the page, I couldn't find an option to change the language. My budget is 150 euros maximum
 

·
Senior OCN Member
Joined
·
40,449 Posts
You can get a Seasonic Focus Plus Gold for 100 euros or the Platinum rated version for 20 euros more

https://www.alternate.be/Seasonic/Focus-Plus-Gold-650W-650-Watt-voeding/html/product/1363990?event=search
https://www.alternate.be/Seasonic/Focus-Plus-Platinum-650W-650-Watt-voeding/html/product/1363991?event=search

There is also the Seasonic Prime if you dont mind paying extra for something a little bit better
https://www.alternate.be/Seasonic/PRIME-650W-Gold-650-Watt-voeding/html/product/1322994?lk=6222

In this case i would skip the Focus Platinum and go for either the Focus Gold or the Prime Gold
Everything else on that site is either worse more expensive or non/semi modular

Edit: what fans are those you have as it might be problem of the fans simply not moving enough air.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #20
Quote:
Originally Posted by shilka View Post

You can get a Seasonic Focus Plus Gold for 100 euros or the Platinum rated version for 20 euros more

https://www.alternate.be/Seasonic/Focus-Plus-Gold-650W-650-Watt-voeding/html/product/1363990?event=search
https://www.alternate.be/Seasonic/Focus-Plus-Platinum-650W-650-Watt-voeding/html/product/1363991?event=search

There is also the Seasonic Prime if you dont mind paying extra for something a little bit better
https://www.alternate.be/Seasonic/PRIME-650W-Gold-650-Watt-voeding/html/product/1322994?lk=6222

In this case i would skip the Focus Platinum and go for either the Focus Gold or the Prime Gold
Everything else on that site is either worse more expensive or non/semi modular

Edit: what fans are those you have as it might be problem of the fans simply not moving enough air.
The fans are 140mm oops, they were pre-installed when I bought the case so I didn't really had a say in it but they are all replaceable and I can add 2 extra coolers on top of the case if needed
 
1 - 20 of 23 Posts
Top