Overclock.net banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

·
Banned
Joined
·
3,925 Posts
The 560 Ti will reach near 1000Mhz.

My 2 cents : You want more than 1.28 GB of Vram.

EDIT : 1.28Gb of Vram will not allow you to set all settings in today's games to MAX with high AA/AF.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
3,925 Posts
You could get the 6950 and save a little money.
Are you set on your CPU and your motherboard ?
Because FX 8150 is more expensive and less powerful than the i5 2500k. Just saying you could save money again and get better perfs.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Ya I have this feeling the 2nd gen BD and/or the piledriver will make up in the parts that the 1st gen BD failed in. I also hear alot of people,including a few friends that own it saying it fails on benchmarks be in real life use it preforms like you'd imagine it would.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
3,925 Posts
Yes, it will overclock better, it will use less power and will outperform the FX.

It might not seem this way ( 8 core versus 4 cores), but it's the reality.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
3,925 Posts
I vote 6950 2Gb.

It will run everything on max, even with AA/AF. You will not have 60 fps thought, you'll want to reduce some settings.

A 448core 1.28Gb GTX 560 will not be able to contain high settings and high AA/AF because of the lower amount of Vram.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
3,925 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kinzer View Post

That's the kind of info I was hoping for =D, thank you Abs!
No problems !

I'm not saying the 448 core 560 is not a good card, in fact it might beat the 6950 in a few games. It just won't be able to max the filtering options.
 

·
Retired Moderation
Joined
·
10,672 Posts
Well first if you haven't built it yet your better off with an Intel i7 2600K $319.99 which will beat the AMD FX 8150 $269.99 for just $50 more. Give that some thought, you'd be much happier you put the extra money in hindsight.

Second, I'm not sure if your on a single monitor or triple monitor set up? Obviously if you can afford the AMD 6970 2GB Lightning - please go for that.

If you on a single monitor 1920x1200 resolution or less - between the MSI AMD 6950 TFIII $299.99 a better choice would be the MSI GTX 560Ti 448 $309.99 for $10 more and better performance.

I could show you bench after bench and from multiple sources where in BF3, Crysis 2, Metro 2033, Modern Warfare III, or Call of Duty Black Ops the MSI GTX 560Ti 448 TFIII beats the MSI AMD 6950 TFIII.

The GTX 560Ti 448 has 6 PWM's which allow for greater over clocking and stability without any issues that will beat the AMD 6950 2GB even if you can unlock it.

Of course if your worried about 1.2GB VRAM not being enough later down the road then it may change later if/when gaming gets more demanding. With the current games (including BF3) it's not proven to be a determining factor as of yet on a single 1920x1200 resolution monitor that more VRAM is going to give you more performance.

Hope that gives you something to think about.
wink.gif


451

451

451
 
  • Rep+
Reactions: Kinzer

·
Cheesebumps!!
Joined
·
2,396 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arizonian View Post

Well first if you haven't built it yet your better off with an Intel i7 2600K $319.99 which will beat the AMD FX 8150 $269.99 for just $50 more. Give that some thought, you'd be much happier you put the extra money in hindsight.
Second, I'm not sure if your on a single monitor or triple monitor set up? Obviously if you can afford the AMD 6970 2GB Lightning - please go for that.
If you on a single monitor 1920x1200 resolution or less - between the MSI AMD 6950 TFIII $299.99 a better choice would be the MSI GTX 560Ti 448 $309.99 for $10 more and better performance.
I could show you bench after bench and from multiple sources where in BF3, Crysis 2, Metro 2033, Modern Warfare III, or Call of Duty Black Ops the MSI GTX 560Ti 448 TFIII beats the MSI AMD 6950 TFIII.
The GTX 560Ti 448 has 6 PWM's which allow for greater over clocking and stability without any issues that will beat the AMD 6950 2GB even if you can unlock it.
Of course if your worried about 1.2GB VRAM not being enough later down the road then it may change later if/when gaming gets more demanding. With the current games (including BF3) it's not proven to be a determining factor as of yet on a single 1920x1200 resolution monitor that more VRAM is going to give you more performance.
Hope that gives you something to think about.
wink.gif

451
451
451
+1 on the GTX 560TI 448..you can also grab the EVGA Classified 560 ti..its just about the same card..
 
1 - 13 of 13 Posts
Top