Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 72 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
190 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
UPDATE 08/04/2016: PLEASE READ LAST POST

UPDATE: Check the latest posts of the thread please.
Also video update: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s4KnoW0K0lM&feature=youtu.be ; you can see the spinning circle lagging after screen turns black.


Hey guys, I finally found what's wrong with my configuration after a lot of searches - it seems something's wrong with my gpu. I always thought it's my mobo or my cpu but it seems gpu makes my pc lag as hell when in load. Or maybe it is the mobo after all? Since the temperature isn't that big at all. My mobo doesn't have vrm heatsinks but I thought they're only for cpu, am I wrong?

I need to mention that when first starting the PC, windows 7 aero theme doesn't work (it doesn't show the color of my wallpaper, just a blue bar). After restarting my pc it works normally.
That was fixed with 1.60N bios version which was beta, but recently I changed to latest version (2.00) and the problem is back.

When watching twitch in full screen it lags as hell.
If i leave a few youtube videos open in the same time for a while, some of them stop working giving me an error and i start seeing some black bars that change their position while im scrolling... Though after re enabling apm in bios it seems i dont get black bars anymore but still getting the errors. Something is really wrong..

I tested the gpu with furmark on 1920x1080 no AA (so basically default settings, only res changed to 1920x1080) and my temp went to 54 C in one minute and I didn't get past 30 fps. It also felt laggy sometimes, I saw a lot of stuttering but the fps was the same, and that's exactly what I see in games - no massive fps drops but game is stuttering as hell.

HWMonitor after the 1 min test: http://i.imgur.com/DdBhJRs.png
furmark test (1 min): http://i.imgur.com/59E6c60.png (gpu power seems too big, am I wrong?)
rest of the temperatures in HWMonitor after the test: http://i.imgur.com/5IdQad4.png

I still have warranty 'till the next month but they will probably say it's nothing wrong with it since I sent my whole pc in the past for similar problems and they said all is good. So I need to know what exactly is causing this to tell them what to look for and to show them that I know what the problem is.

So yeah, basically after the test even moving icons on the desktop is laggy. That only happens a few seconds (sometimes minutes) after quitting a game/stopping the stress test, after that it works normal. I also have a "black bar" on the left side of the monitor and I can guarantee it's not the monitor since I got it a few days ago (BenQ XL2411Z) and my old monitor (BenQ VW2245) had the same black bar. I know this should be normal but it's bigger than normal (for example, the one in the right looks good, it's way smaller, the one on the left is thicker) and I can notice this.

RIG:
MOBO Asrock 980DE3/U3S3
Hard disk WD Blue 1TB SATA-III 7200 RPM 64MB
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 660 OC WindForce 2X 2GB DDR5 192-bit (specs here: http://www.hitechlegion.com/video-cards/30623-gigabyte-gtx-660-wf?showall=&start=2)
AMD FX-6300 3.5GHz box
Super Flower Atlas AT-530P12HE 530W
HyperX Black 8GB DDR3 1600MHz CL10

I need to solve this problem as soon as possible since my cs go team is waiting for me to fix my stuttering until attending new tournaments. Please help!
 

·
Laptop Enthusiast
Joined
·
9,295 Posts
In all honesty, it might be your slow HDD causing the issue.

How full is that WD Blue drive? It's been ages since I was on a spinner disk only and man... it's something else entirely now that I'm almost entirely based off SSDs.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
190 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
752 gb free of 931, I recently reinstalled windows 7 (a week ago)..

But to be honest I wasn't experiencing this kind of lag not even on my old 150 gb hdd.

According to HWMonitor I only get 549 MHz max and I should get 1098 or something, am I right? That's exactly half. In furmark it says 940 MHz, still not 1098..

Also when it's stuttering I see no changes at all in GPU frequency or memory. So maybe it isn't the GPU after all. I'd like to think it's the mobo since I have money to buy a new one, but I don't want to change it and not solve anything at all.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
10,755 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mihai21ro View Post

752 gb free of 931, I recently reinstalled windows 7 (a week ago)..

But to be honest I wasn't experiencing this kind of lag not even on my old 150 gb hdd.

According to HWMonitor I only get 549 MHz max and I should get 1098 or something, am I right? That's exactly half. In furmark it says 940 MHz, still not 1098..

Also when it's stuttering I see no changes at all in GPU frequency or memory. So maybe it isn't the GPU after all. I'd like to think it's the mobo since I have money to buy a new one, but I don't want to change it and not solve anything at all.
Furmark throttles like that. You should use a test like unigine heaven 4.0 or GPU-bound games when evaluating clocks
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
190 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Well alright, will do the test tomorrow since im in bed now.
What about the desktop lag? Is it also normal? Im getting this even after quitting a cpu bound game such as cs go. I also feel the stutter in that game even at high fps.

Ah, forgot to say that when watching twitch in full screen it lags as hell.
If i leave a few youtube videos open in the same time for a while, some of them stop working giving me an error and i start seeing some black bars that change their position while im scrolling... Though after re enabling apm in bios it seems i dont get black bars anymore but still getting the errors. Something is really wrong..edited the first post also adding this
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
190 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyro999 View Post

Check your DPC latency with a program like Latencymon
I did this a while ago.. It says my system is stable or whatever the green message says. Or shall I test it while im lagging?

Edit: actually I was receiving the red message because of usbport.sys high dpc latency but I solved it by plugging my wifi adapter in the front panel instead of the back of the case (where the mobo is)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
190 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Now I'm not lagging after the test lol. I'll edit if I can start lagging again. Yesterday I've been playing cs for two hours or so and after a few minutes of cooling I ran the test.

The air coming out of the case isn't hot at all although I have the same temperature as yesterday on the GPU, and yesterday it was hot, I could feel that.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
190 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
I ran furmark for 10 minutes, max temp was 60 C and guess what, no stuttering. Hot air (well it's not hot, I'd say room temperature +3-4 C degrees) is coming out of the case but the PC works normally. So it's not the GPU after all, right?
I forgot to mention that sometimes (once in a week) my pc runs normally and smooth. In the past it used to work good just during the night (lol), so after ~8 hours of running it would eventually would start working as it should. But that doesn't happen anymore and I'm lagging even at night.

I really think something is wrong with this motherboard so I'm going to buy another one as soon as possible (I'll buy Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3P as recommended here) and I hope all will be good! If you have any reason to think it's not the motherboard then please tell me.

Sorry for double post.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,126 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mihai21ro View Post

752 gb free of 931, I recently reinstalled windows 7 (a week ago)..

But to be honest I wasn't experiencing this kind of lag not even on my old 150 gb hdd.

According to HWMonitor I only get 549 MHz max and I should get 1098 or something, am I right? That's exactly half. In furmark it says 940 MHz, still not 1098..

Also when it's stuttering I see no changes at all in GPU frequency or memory. So maybe it isn't the GPU after all. I'd like to think it's the mobo since I have money to buy a new one, but I don't want to change it and not solve anything at all.[/quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by mihai21ro View Post

I ran furmark for 10 minutes, max temp was 60 C and guess what, no stuttering. Hot air (well it's not hot, I'd say room temperature +3-4 C degrees) is coming out of the case but the PC works normally. So it's not the GPU after all, right?
I forgot to mention that sometimes (once in a week) my pc runs normally and smooth. In the past it used to work good just during the night (lol), so after ~8 hours of running it would eventually would start working as it should. But that doesn't happen anymore and I'm lagging even at night.

I really think something is wrong with this motherboard so I'm going to buy another one as soon as possible (I'll buy Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3P as recommended here) and I hope all will be good! If you have any reason to think it's not the motherboard then please tell me.

Sorry for double post.
You already posted what fixed it. Wifi adapter. GPU is probably fine.

Don't ever use Furmark again either. This isn't 2006. ;-)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
190 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
The wi-fi adapter didn't fix it and I also tried to use just a cable, no difference. So it's not the adapter.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
480 Posts
Sounds like a ram or heat issue, but 60C is fine for the card..er cards. Could be something with sli as well? Don't know much about that, never needed it and i basically prefer stability over anything.
What about your cpu temps? Excessive hot cpu can heat up your system ram as well as it's sitting right next to it.
I would do a system ram stress test. And or take out one stick see if it happens, and if not replace that stick and take out the other and see if it happens. Are you on Win xp? 4Gb is seriously limited, especially in Win 7 or above. There are also video card ram stress tests. I forget all the names of that stuff as i basically have had a stable system for as long as i can remember.
But black bars is often a general sign of maxed out system ram. If you have a faulty stick you could be running on half the ram you think you are.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
190 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
windows 7 , tried the ram memory test from windows (can't remember how it's called) and all went good. cpu temps are shown in hwmonitor pics (~18 C in idle)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
480 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mihai21ro View Post

752 gb free of 931, I recently reinstalled windows 7 (a week ago)..

But to be honest I wasn't experiencing this kind of lag not even on my old 150 gb hdd.

According to HWMonitor I only get 549 MHz max and I should get 1098 or something, am I right? That's exactly half. In furmark it says 940 MHz, still not 1098..

Also when it's stuttering I see no changes at all in GPU frequency or memory. So maybe it isn't the GPU after all. I'd like to think it's the mobo since I have money to buy a new one, but I don't want to change it and not solve anything at all.
If your video card isn't overclocking from 2d to 3d mode it can cause stuttering and obviously low frame rate.
Have riva tuner or afterburner ect running with osd on showing over 3d programs, run a game and check your card clocks - gpu and memory - actual video memory usage card temps and fan speed. Create a custom fan curve, my video card never goes above 60c basically for instance.


The card should overclock out of 2d mode for most games intensive games. You can also set it to performance mode or rather "power limit" to 100% to make sure it's not throttling your card at certain temps. At least that's in afterburner probably any riva tuner variant.

Check processes running. Never saw how much ram you have.

There are ways to test your video card ram stability. https://www.raymond.cc/blog/having-problems-with-video-card-stress-test-its-memory/

Other things. Mobo voltage droop, bad power supply...

Really hard to diagnose someones system without knowing what they have done to it, or how it's set up. If you bought a pre built from some place random it might not be set up at all worth a sht. But if there is an obvious problem that can be re-created they should fix it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
664 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mihai21ro View Post

Hey guys, I finally found what's wrong with my configuration after a lot of searches - it seems something's wrong with my gpu. I always thought it's my mobo or my cpu but it seems gpu makes my pc lag as hell when in load. Or maybe it is the mobo after all? Since the temperature isn't that big at all. My mobo doesn't have vrm heatsinks but I thought they're only for cpu, am I wrong?

I need to mention that when first starting the PC, windows 7 aero theme doesn't work (it doesn't show the color of my wallpaper, just a blue bar). After restarting my pc it works normally.
That was fixed with 1.60N bios version which was beta, but recently I changed to latest version (2.00) and the problem is back.

When watching twitch in full screen it lags as hell.
If i leave a few youtube videos open in the same time for a while, some of them stop working giving me an error and i start seeing some black bars that change their position while im scrolling... Though after re enabling apm in bios it seems i dont get black bars anymore but still getting the errors. Something is really wrong..

I tested the gpu with furmark on 1920x1080 no AA (so basically default settings, only res changed to 1920x1080) and my temp went to 54 C in one minute and I didn't get past 30 fps. It also felt laggy sometimes, I saw a lot of stuttering but the fps was the same, and that's exactly what I see in games - no massive fps drops but game is stuttering as hell.

HWMonitor after the 1 min test: http://i.imgur.com/DdBhJRs.png
furmark test (1 min): http://i.imgur.com/59E6c60.png (gpu power seems too big, am I wrong?)
rest of the temperatures in HWMonitor after the test: http://i.imgur.com/5IdQad4.png

RIG:
MOBO Asrock 980DE3/U3S3
Hard disk WD Blue 1TB SATA-III 7200 RPM 64MB
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 660 OC WindForce 2X 2GB DDR5 192-bit (specs here: http://www.hitechlegion.com/video-cards/30623-gigabyte-gtx-660-wf?showall=&start=2)
AMD FX-6300 3.5GHz box
Super Flower Atlas AT-530P12HE 530W
HyperX Black 8GB DDR3 1600MHz CL10

I need to solve this problem as soon as possible since my cs go team is waiting for me to fix my stuttering until attending new tournaments. Please help!
A lot of the things you mention don't even require a GPU to be used. Honestly I would disable the GPU and reenact some of the known problems you know will be caused and if they problems persist you can rule out your GPU. The stuttering sounds like it could be a RAM issue, the black bars sounds very odd, again disabling the GPU would help remove it from the equation if you can make it happen without the GPU. If you're primarily using your computer for general use and CS you shouldn't be needing anything more than 8GBs of RAM. Worst case scenario in my opinion is if its all related then it might be a failing HDD. How old is your hard drive? Other things to note is how old is your machine, when and how long has the problem been occurring and did it all start at the same time?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
190 Posts
Discussion Starter #17
Guys as I said before I'm pretty sure something is wrong with my motherboard, so I'll change it. If the problem persist I'll let you know. I'll get the new mobo in a week or so.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
190 Posts
Discussion Starter #18
By the way I just took a picture of the weird black bars issue I have when running an youtube video (or two) for a long time: http://i.imgur.com/f3Vb4NC.png (you can see the bars above link bar), they change their position/get bigger when I scroll down/up.

It's weird that even if the whole screen isn't black it still apears black when I paste the print screen in paint. Finally managed to get a picture but it's showing some small black bars. Lightshot pics don't even work when the bars are occuping half of monitor.

I fix this by restarting the browser, but I don't think it's normal.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
664 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mihai21ro View Post

By the way I just took a picture of the weird black bars issue I have when running an youtube video (or two) for a long time: http://i.imgur.com/f3Vb4NC.png (you can see the bars above link bar), they change their position/get bigger when I scroll down/up.

It's weird that even if the whole screen isn't black it still apears black when I paste the print screen in paint. Finally managed to get a picture but it's showing some small black bars. Lightshot pics don't even work when the bars are occuping half of monitor.

I fix this by restarting the browser, but I don't think it's normal.
Its definitely not normal, unfortunately I can't view it as I'm at work. Still think it would benefit for you to temporarily disable your GPU, but you seem decided on your MOBO. If you have money to throw around that's great, but normally I would work to try and find the exact cause before making a purchase and replacing a part.

The fact that you closing the browser to resolve the issue leads me to believe it might be a RAM issue. Actually most of your problems kind of signify a RAM problem. But keep us posted.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
480 Posts
It really does sound like a ram issue. I generally have dozens of tabs open at one time. I use Firefox and it';s only 32 bit so once it hits 2Gb of ram, things start to bog. I have my tabs set to not load unless i click on them, or else it would take up it's full ram capacity upon load. So check your processes and see how much ram your browser is using once that starts to happen.

Also like i said above. Check your video card ram with one of the testers. If you have a mobo hw monitor check to see you are getting proper voltage from your power supply. All that stuff you really should check when you build a system. One thing at a time.
 
1 - 20 of 72 Posts
Top