Overclock.net banner

181 - 200 of 1291 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,273 Posts
Well I just purchased another MSI 750 Ti today, hopefully I'll get around 315KH/s per card when everything is set up perfectly. Now I'm just waiting on the risers and I should be good to go. <img alt="smile.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/smile.gif">
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,514 Posts
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1468166/gtx-750-ti-mining/150#post_21887741" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>AlphaC</strong> <a href="/t/1468166/gtx-750-ti-mining/150#post_21887741"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
HardwareDecoder , the 6-pin is going to provide more <span style="text-decoration:underline;">stable</span> power than a "made in china" PCI-e riser with some solder, hot glue, and maybe a capacitor <img alt="wink.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/wink.gif">. The safe allowable wattage really depends on the wire gauge used by the riser. I'm pretty sure cam wasn't trying to be snarky.<br><br>
As far as the AMD motherboards go it's iffy. Some people have reported issues with decreased hashrate compared to running them on the board , the cudaminer dev conjectured that it's because of added resistance of PCI-e risers to the Northbridge<br>
Chrome with a flash game open forces the GPU to go into 3D mode<br><br>
Nvidia has a bad habit of trying to save power (throttle) even when a 100% non-3D load is on it.<br><br>
----<br><br>
ccRicers , it's worth it if you can get the GTX 750 Ti for cheaper than $170 if your power is expensive.<br><hr class="bbcode_rule"><br>
Gigabyte GTX 750 Ti update<br>
<a href="http://www.reddit.com/r/litecoinmining/comments/1zfx90/issues_optimising_gigabyte_gtx_750_ti_2gb_oc/" target="_blank">http://www.reddit.com/r/litecoinmining/comments/1zfx90/issues_optimising_gigabyte_gtx_750_ti_2gb_oc/</a><br>
user then got 290+ kh/s using 32 bit cudaminer<br><br>
reasoning: <a href="http://www.reddit.com/r/dogemining/comments/1zek7b/the_x86_version_of_cudaminer_always_give_me/cft3ta2" target="_blank">http://www.reddit.com/r/dogemining/comments/1zek7b/the_x86_version_of_cudaminer_always_give_me/cft3ta2</a></div>
</div>
<br>
hey good info the 32bit ver gave me another 10 khash I'm at 305 now
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,791 Posts
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1468166/gtx-750-ti-mining/170#post_21887924" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>ivanlabrie</strong> <a href="/t/1468166/gtx-750-ti-mining/170#post_21887924"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
Agreed, it's my board of choice...either that or the asrock oc formula, if the z87x goes OOS.</div>
</div>
<br>
Sounds cool. About to pull the trigger on the purchases- I found some of those OC boards going for $160, and my other cards are still on auction, but I can't wait! I will buy two graphics cards at first and then the other two with the next paycheck.<br><br>
[edit] never mind, the card is sold already <img alt="biggrin.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/biggrin.gif">
 

·
⤷ αC
Joined
·
11,240 Posts
Discussion Starter #184
ZOTAC DUAL fan model (ZT-70602-10M) is available at SabrePC for $157.99, I'm not sure how good of a retailer they are<br>
<a href="http://www.sabrepc.com/zotac-zt-70602-10m-geforce-gtx-750-ti-oc-2gb-graphic-card.html" target="_blank">http://www.sabrepc.com/zotac-zt-70602-10m-geforce-gtx-750-ti-oc-2gb-graphic-card.html</a>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
33 Posts
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1468166/gtx-750-ti-mining/180#post_21888828" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>AlphaC</strong> <a href="/t/1468166/gtx-750-ti-mining/180#post_21888828"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
ZOTAC DUAL fan model (ZT-70602-10M) is available at SabrePC for $157.99, I'm not sure how good of a retailer they are<br>
<a href="http://www.sabrepc.com/zotac-zt-70602-10m-geforce-gtx-750-ti-oc-2gb-graphic-card.html" target="_blank">http://www.sabrepc.com/zotac-zt-70602-10m-geforce-gtx-750-ti-oc-2gb-graphic-card.html</a></div>
</div>
<br>
Those are like the worst of the overclocke cards, 1046mhz core clock? That is weak. I would save my money for something else.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,639 Posts
I've seen some Zotac results and they were really good, stock clocks don't mean much.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,639 Posts
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1468166/gtx-750-ti-mining/180#post_21889316" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>Americonfusion</strong> <a href="/t/1468166/gtx-750-ti-mining/180#post_21889316"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
Most of the Zotacs Ive seen struggle to crack 300khs</div>
</div>
<br>
Yeah, they pull off some good scrypt jane and keccak numbers though...<br><br>
<a href="https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=167229.msg5441080;topicseen#msg5441080" target="_blank">https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=167229.msg5441080;topicseen#msg5441080</a><br><br>
I'd go with the msi oc one without 6 pin, more convenient psu wise...
 

·
Done
Joined
·
5,256 Posts
Can't remember what has been said about this card yet, but is the evga superclock 750 Ti worth buying? Can't find any info on a 6pin connection, or the components used
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
33 Posts
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1468166/gtx-750-ti-mining/180#post_21889464" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>fleetfeather</strong> <a href="/t/1468166/gtx-750-ti-mining/180#post_21889464"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
Can't remember what has been said about this card yet, but is the evga superclock 750 Ti worth buying? Can't find any info on a 6pin connection, or the components used</div>
</div>
<br>
Yes it is, it has no 6 pin and will get 300+khs for you.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
37 Posts
My Zotac reference 750 Tis perform better than my ASUS 6-pin models...Made me a sad panda...since the ASUS models were $10 more expensive. The ASUS MEM CLK's wouldn't OC worth a ****. The Zotac MEM CLK is much more flexible...just my experience.<br><br>
BTW, Windows 8.1 x64 was causing my scalability issues...now getting 1740 kH/s on 6 750 Tis on the USB 3.0 x1 riser cable assemblies.<br><br>
Is there a CLI for MSI AB? I need to automate my tuned over clocks for each card individually. I have all of the information in a spreadsheet, but still have to spend 1-2 mins manually setting and applying everything.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,791 Posts
That's good to know. I went for the EVGA OC because of no pins, and because it's EVGA <img alt="tongue.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/tongue.gif"><br><br>
Setting up Cudaminer on Linux sounds daunting though lol
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,514 Posts
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1468166/gtx-750-ti-mining/190#post_21889727" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>ccRicers</strong> <a href="/t/1468166/gtx-750-ti-mining/190#post_21889727"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
That's good to know. I went for the EVGA OC because of no pins, and because it's EVGA <img alt="tongue.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/tongue.gif"><br><br>
Setting up Cudaminer on Linux sounds daunting though lol</div>
</div>
<br>
it really does, people love to bash AMD linux drivers but setitng up OpenCL was alot easier than the guides i've seen to get cuda to work.<br><br>
I will have to do it eventually though because I really don't like windows for production machines.<br>
Thank god I can run BAMT for the dozens of 280x's I have.<br><br><br>
Problem with linux is we need software to overclock or for someone to show us how to change clocks in bios for the 750 ti.<br><br>
I had pmed that skyn3t guy on here that is an nvidia bios guy but he wasn't interested in helping us <img alt="redface.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/redface.gif">
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
10,262 Posts
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1468166/gtx-750-ti-mining#post_21809873" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>wholeeo</strong> <a href="/t/1468166/gtx-750-ti-mining#post_21809873"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
Crazy, the power efficiency of these things. Don't they run without PCIE cables plugged in or is that the 750 non ti?</div>
</div>
As efficient in mining as a 270<br>
Dissapointment<br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1917211/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="1917211" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1917211/width/350/height/700/flags/LL" style="; width: 350px; height: 253px"></a>
 

·
Pigeon Poop Enthusiast
Joined
·
4,278 Posts
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1468166/gtx-750-ti-mining/100_100#post_21889746" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>maarten12100</strong> <a href="/t/1468166/gtx-750-ti-mining/100_100#post_21889746"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
As efficient in mining as a 270<br>
Dissapointment<br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1917211/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="1917211" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1917211/width/350/height/700/flags/LL" style="; width: 350px; height: 253px"></a></div>
</div>
<br>
Hey girl, please show me where I mentioned anything about khash/w. i'll wait, <img alt="rolleyes.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/rolleyes.gif">
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
10,262 Posts
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1468166/gtx-750-ti-mining/190#post_21889803" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>wholeeo</strong> <a href="/t/1468166/gtx-750-ti-mining/190#post_21889803"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
Hey girl, please show me where I mentioned anything about khash/w. i'll wait, <img alt="rolleyes.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/rolleyes.gif"></div>
</div>
Just saying they really aren't all that efficient for mining yet. No need to patronize me.<br><br>
Clearly you should be mining something different than Litecoin aka standard scrypt.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,791 Posts
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1468166/gtx-750-ti-mining/190#post_21889735" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>HardwareDecoder</strong> <a href="/t/1468166/gtx-750-ti-mining/190#post_21889735"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
it really does, people love to bash AMD linux drivers but setitng up OpenCL was alot easier than the guides i've seen to get cuda to work.<br><br>
I will have to do it eventually though because I really don't like windows for production machines.<br>
Thank god I can run BAMT for the dozens of 280x's I have.<br><br>
Problem with linux is we need software to overclock or for someone to show us how to change clocks in bios for the 750 ti.<br><br>
I had pmed that skyn3t guy on here that is an nvidia bios guy but he wasn't interested in helping us <img alt="redface.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/redface.gif"></div>
</div>
<br>
I don't even use BAMT. I followed the Cryptobadger guide mostly and have been running Xubuntu on an old Athlon 64 system and Cgminer 2.11. Mining has been a breeze for the most part. I was just stumped when it came to Vertcoin and solo mining on Linux. I like doing all of that through SSH. With Windows as a remote machine I feel more "locked out" as it's not as simple to control them remotely.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
744 Posts
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1468166/gtx-750-ti-mining/190#post_21889813" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>maarten12100</strong> <a href="/t/1468166/gtx-750-ti-mining/190#post_21889813"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
Just saying they really aren't all that efficient for mining yet. No need to patronize me.<br><br>
Clearly you should be mining something different than Litecoin aka standard scrypt.</div>
</div>
<br>
For litecoin mining, which gpu's are more energy efficient than a R9 270 and a GTX 750 Ti?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
10,262 Posts
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1468166/gtx-750-ti-mining/190#post_21890106" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>Partol</strong> <a href="/t/1468166/gtx-750-ti-mining/190#post_21890106"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
For litecoin mining, which gpu's are more energy efficient than a R9 270 and a GTX 750 Ti?</div>
</div>
Just saying it doesn't completely dethrone the 270 in normal scrypt, let's wait for cuda mining to get better.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
37 Posts
Well boys and girls, I've made some progress.<br><br>
Currently here is my setup:<br><br>
2x Zotac Reference 750 Ti<br>
4x ASUS OC'd+PCIe-6pin 750 Ti<br>
ASUS Z87-Pro<br>
Intel Core-i5 4670k<br>
4GB DDR3 1333MHz<br>
1kW PSU<br>
6x x1 USB3 Riser Cable Asemblies<br>
Old Seagate 320GB HDD<br><br>
I have identified two separate issues.<br><br>
#1 PCIe x1-mode performance for Cudaminer<br>
Cudaminer apparently has a high PCIe bandwidth utilization...thus when going from x16 mode to anything lower, as you get closer to x1 mode (risers or not), you're going to see degradation of performance (10-30 kH/s for 750 Ti in my experience). Cudaminer author is apparently going to be working to fix this ASAP since he'll soon be operating a 750 Ti rig with riser assemblies.<br><br><br>
#2 Windows 8.1x64 + > 2 GPUs = scaling disaster: With six GPU's loaded, I could not get > 1400 kH/s. Seeing as how there has been anecdotal evidence of others having success at scaling GPUs in windows, this was perplexing to me. Additionally, the system felt realllly unstable with all of the cards at stock speeds...seemed like just having six cards running at once was asking too much for W8.1x64+Nvidia driver. I tried Ubuntu 12.04 x64...that seemed to scale OK, as I could get ~1600 kH/s, but I was stock at ~stock performance. I learned how to increase the MEM CLK with Kepler BIOS Tweaker, and that helped a little bit and was what allowed me to hit 1600 kH/s. Main issue with a Linux solution is abysmal OC capabilities. Ain't nobody got time for that. Finally it hit me...these guys on these forums aren't paying for Windows licenses, they're torenting Windows 7 off of BT. They, unlike me, don't have readily available MSFT product keys to throw away. That is what bit me in the ass. I installed WIndows 7 x64...sure enough...GPU's scaled, system is buttery stable, and now I could individually tune my GPUs with individual over clock settings ala MSI AB. This is how I now achieve <b>~1760 kH/s on six cards.</b><br><br>
I've accepted that my investment in ASUS 750 Ti's was a bad choice, and I'm dealing with it. The MEM CLK's wont OC well at all compared to the Zotac Cards. Cooling is not an issue nor is availability of power.
 
181 - 200 of 1291 Posts
Top