Overclock.net banner
1 - 20 of 1194 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
270 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,
my card has just arrived
smile.gif
here are few pix on unboxing:



My bench is still same old rig I had made 2 years ago:
i5 2500K @ 4.3Ghz
Gigabyte mobo
600W Modular Power Supply
16GB ram @ 1600Mhz
You can see details in my rig.

What can you expect in this topic?
Benchmarks of the card
Overclocking with software like EVGA Precision X
Overclocking with custom bios

I will update it while I go
smile.gif


First impression of unboxing:
- IT'S HERE!
- Well the box is dirty...
- Looks like it might be "used" before...
- Someone returned? Maybe card after review?
- Not a lot of stuff in the box

Can't wait to mount the card in my case and start the work!

EDIT 26.06.2015 evening

On Stock settings, I didn't touch anything yet
smile.gif

http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/7517033?



ASIC reads 72.1%
Stock bios:

GTX_980Ti_GM200_original_bios.zip 152k .zip file


EDIT 27.06.2015 morning

Heya all,
I finished messing up with OC in Precision X
smile.gif


Pushing Core to +163Mhz causes crash
Pushing Memory to +560Mhz causes green artifacts (small squares) to appear or "pink puzzle screen" (can't recover, hard reset).
Here you go benchmarks with +161Mhz on GPU and +550Mhz on memory
http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/7521777?



PS: Interesting thing Unigine Valley passed on +590Mhz memory but Firestrike died there
biggrin.gif


EDIT 27.06.2015 afternoon

On request of dzb87 I did tests without Overvoltage, here is the result
Passed all on 1483 Mhz core / 2000 Mhz memory

http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/7525473?



On the other note, the morning OC proved to be unstable on Witcher 3 after 20 minutes of gameplay.
It was ok on +150 Mhz / +500Mhz = 1529.8Mhz core / 2000.7 Mhz mem (this was with overvoltage.

EDIT 30.06.2015 1:00 am

I'm not dead yet
smile.gif
working on custom bios with Laithan for this card and chewing through MBT.
Lot of testing, nothing solid yet.
Anybody interested can check http://www.overclock.net/t/1544574/gigabyte-gtx-9xx-g1-gaming-h2o-air-bios-tweaking

EDIT 04.07.2015 15:30

Got something interesting this time:

On modded bios:

980Ti_F3DP_1531test.zip 152k .zip file

It is unlocked bios with table adjusted to 1.274V and 1531Mhz.
In Precision X:


EDIT 12.07.2015 21:30

Final thoughts... for now I'm staying on stock bios. The card eats every game I try in 1080p so no problems there. The gain from unlocked bios is ok compared to stock but the temps are higher thus fans spin loud like crazy.
Stock 1.8V - 1483Mhz core 2030Mhz mem.
Stock 1.224V (voltage slider) - 1544Mhz core 2000Mhz mem - has temp throttling problems
Unlocked 1.274V - 1544Mhz core 2000Mhz mem

980Ti_F3DP_V2BETA.zip 152k .zip file

Middle ground 1.249V - 1531Mhz core 2000Mhz mem

980Ti_F3DP_V2BETA_1249v.zip 152k .zip file
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
43 Posts
how score 3dmark stock with oc?
 

·
....X....
Joined
·
5,071 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by haritos14 View Post

how score 3dmark stock with oc?
+1 normal firestrike will be good
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
270 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I've just mounted a card but I have slight problem...
I have OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W which has 1x8 pin connector cable and 1x8 pin to 6 pin connector.
I pluged the card with cable I had in card box - 2 molex (3/4 used) to 1 8pin connector that actually has 6 pins inside only (2 empty), I'm not sure if this is ok way to connect a card... I was surprised to not have 2 cables 8 pin to 8 pin with the Power supply, I'd appreciate a comment on this from somebody more experienced?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,374 Posts
For pci-e, you need every pin IIRC, and the non pci-e connections that have all the pins are at different voltages and will not work.
 
  • Rep+
Reactions: xonare

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,911 Posts
Congrats on a great card
wink.gif

I run 1500mhz/7.6ghz 30mv and 50% fan speed. There is very minimal coil whine on my card.

Can't you use the PCIE 8 pin and the dual 4 pin molex to 8 pin PCIE that Gigabyte gives you?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
270 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by ep45-ds3l View Post

Congrats on a great card
wink.gif

I run 1500mhz/7.6ghz 30mv and 50% fan speed. There is very minimal coil whine on my card.

Can't you use the PCIE 8 pin and the dual 4 pin molex to 8 pin PCIE that Gigabyte gives you?
That's what I used but I'd prefer to use 2 8 pin connectors directly from power supply
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,911 Posts
You don't have that option with your current psu unfortunately.

BTW, if you want to change the color of the Windforce logo you'll need to download OCGuru from Gigabyte's website.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
139 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ep45-ds3l View Post

Congrats on a great card
wink.gif

I run 1500mhz/7.6ghz 30mv and 50% fan speed. There is very minimal coil whine on my card.

Can't you use the PCIE 8 pin and the dual 4 pin molex to 8 pin PCIE that Gigabyte gives you?
Do you use a custom fan profile to keep it at that fan speed? Do you hear the fans getting a loud whine when you go above 60% fan speed?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
270 Posts
Discussion Starter · #16 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by xonare View Post

Very nice ep45-ds3l
smile.gif
I see that my i5 is bottle neck I guess
biggrin.gif
compared to your score I only managed this:
http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/7521777?
with 1540 Mhz core / 2028Mhz memory.

Update on 1st post
smile.gif
After 20 min of playing Witcher 3, PC crashed and restarted (I was afk so I didn't see blue screen), gonna put it on +150Mhz core and +500Mhz memory for the time being and see how it goes.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
140 Posts
What ASIC do you have and what is your max OC without touching voltage?

I bought same card week ago and after hours of testing my max stable core OC is 1480.
At 1500 it occasionaly crashes.
I don't want to change voltage because it makes temps much higher and noise is louder.
However even at 1480 the card is a beast.
Mems on the other side are oc'ing suprisingly well. 8200MHz looks stable so I left them @ 8000MHz.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
270 Posts
Discussion Starter · #18 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by dzb87 View Post

What ASIC do you have and what is your max OC without touching voltage?

I bought same card week ago and after hours of testing my max stable core OC is 1480.
At 1500 it occasionaly crashes.
I don't want to change voltage because it makes temps much higher and noise is louder.
However even at 1480 the card is a beast.
Mems on the other side are oc'ing suprisingly well. 8200MHz looks stable so I left them @ 8000MHz.
I will check all this and come back to you
smile.gif


In the mean time I played some Witcher 3 on Ultra with all Post Processing, Hairworks etc.
Core is running at 1528 Mhz and 1.224 V but sometimes it dips down to 1.205 V and 1519Mhz for a while and then goes back up to previous values, not sure why that is.
Either way hold 70-90 fps depending on area, time of day etc. sometimes dips down to 65 for a short moment (1 sec?)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
140 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by xonare View Post

I will check all this and come back to you
smile.gif

Core is running at 1528 Mhz and 1.224 V but sometimes it dips down to 1.205 V and 1519Mhz for a while and then goes back up to previous values, not sure why that is.
Okay, please tell us also what is your temperature with this settings and how many rpms your cooling runs.
For me adding anything to voltage makes temps go higher by at least 5C and then cooling runs like a small tornado - 2400rpm and higher.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
270 Posts
Discussion Starter · #20 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by dzb87 View Post

Okay, please tell us also what is your temperature with this settings and how many rpms your cooling runs.
For me adding anything to voltage makes temps go higher by at least 5C and then cooling runs like a small tornado - 2400rpm and higher.
After running Valley without Overvoltage you can see everything here:


but this setup crashed on Firestrike, I'm lookin for something stable on Firestrike now.

EDIT

Passed all on 1483 Mhz core / 2000 Mhz memory

http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/7525473?



EDIT 2

ASIC read is 72.1 % dunno if it's good or not...
 
1 - 20 of 1194 Posts
Top