Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 230 Posts

·
Registered
1,082 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Overview

You can find a guide on TIM's here

If along the way you have any questions or would like to make any suggestions on how to improve this guide, you can do so by replying to this thread. I will take any suggestions if they're reasonable. This is my first time making a guide so correct me if I make a few mistakes
I will take anything into consideration.

Introduction
  • So we all know looking for the right fans for your case/heatsink/radiator is a huge hassle. Well, I've put together a guide based on my preferences that can help you choose the correct fan for the setup you're looking for.
  • My goal is to provide you with the right fan for your needs, remember this whole guide is based off my opinions so no flaming or thread bashing will be tolerated
Explanation of fans

What is CFM?
  • CFM stands for Cubic Feet per Minute. It means how much air your fans can push, and a high-CFM fan is not necessarily loud, as a low-CFM fan is not necessarily quiet, and is considerably the most important thing in buying a fan.
What is dBa?
  • dBa - dBa stands for decibel adjusted, which means the noise power calculated in dB or decibels. The higher the CFM, usually means higher dBa.
What is RPM?
  • RPM stands for revolutions per minute, the number of RPM on a fan represents how many times the blade makes a full circle in one minute, many people new to fans tend to confuse RPM with CFM, they are not the SAME , the higher the RPM, the more noise you'll likely have.
What is Static Pressure?