Overclock.net banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello newbie here, just looking for some answers to help improve air flow for this case. Currently has all stock fans looking to upgrade the front 200mm with 2x Phanteks PH-F120MP and try to mod 1 Phanteks PH-F140MP at the 5.25 drive bay and probably move the other 200mm as an exhaust fan on top. Thoughts? or just overkill for my setup.

My setup is ancient, but looking to upgrade by the end of the year.
i5 3570k with Thermalright True Spirit 120
Maximus V Gene
Strix GTX 1070

·
Linux Lobbyist
313 Posts
Another person in the situation yay !, well i have haf 932 but still :)

Anyway what i've done is i've bought a Xigmatek 4 in 3 hdd cage and placed it to cover the 2nd,3rd and 4th 5.25 drive bays from the bottom (in the 1st one closest to bottom fan i have a fan controller mounted). Then i used 2 x (120mm) Scythe Gentle Typhoons (1850rpm) i had lying around, and mounted 1 on the cage and 1 on the bottom fan mount and i'm running one @1200rpm and other @800rpm (same noise level, 800rpm one is busted a bit :p). The only other fan i use is another Scythe fan (140mm) i salvaged from an old Scythe Zipang, and put it on the back as exhaust running @800rpm.

So yeah for your case, I'd def go with 1 PH-F140MP in the drive bay, 2 PH-F120MP in the front 200mm space, and 1 PH-F140MP in the back as exhaust.
I don't think there's any need to use any fans on the top, just a let a little bit of heat naturally come up (fans up there would steal the airflow from the cpu heatsink anyway), and let the back fan guide the bulk of the heat out the back of the case.

You could also block/tapeover half or 3/4 of the mesh area on the side-panel so the air wouldn't go out before it reaches the gpu, and remove pci-e brackets like Doyll always suggests :)

So yeah that's the tl:dr of that awesome Doyll post xD

·
Premium Member
27,108 Posts