Overclock.net banner

4301 - 4320 of 4320 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
67 Posts
@MihaStar
I need some help with modifying Firepro Tonga card.

What I have (MXRT-7600 which is oem version of W7100)
What I want to be (FirePro S7150)

They are identical card from visual perspective.

DeviceID
W7100 = 0x692B
MXRT7600 = 0x693B
S7150 = 0x6929

When I flash MXRT 7600 rom, I get DeviceID = 0x693B (same as bios)
When I flash S7150 rom, I get DeviceID= 0x692B (It should be 0x6929)

I modified bios of both 7600 and 7150 to see if it changes.
I changed right after 'PCIR' and I was able to see changed DeviceID during atiflash.
But even after reboot, DeviceID still remains same as before modification.

What I dont understand is why DeviceID become 0x692B when I flashed 0x6929 BIOS
Is there ASIC lock that overwrites DeviceID? or ATOMBIOS command that sets PCIID?

I attached both BIOS
Well, I checked the BIOSes you've provided, and they are WAY too different, starting with size (122kB vs 370kB), then different VRAM_Info tables and supported memory ICs (4H24MFR/4032BABG/4H24AJR vs 4H24AJR only) and many more other things I guess. Moreover, the 7150 you found is from a 7150x2 board in fact ("Master" and "Gemini" keywords in the header).

Let me simply ask, what's the reason fo such mod?
I guess both cards are FirePro-s and they should be compatible with Radeon Pro driver branch.

AFAIR when bits in DeviceID are fused to '1's, they can't be reversed back, so you can flash the DevID 290X to DevID 290 (0x67B0 -> 0x67B1), but you can't do the reversed trick.
Similarly you can't flash the 290X DevID to FirePro DevID (0x67B0 to 0x67A0).

How about trying these BIOSes:
https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/171144/171144 (ver. .102)
https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/195345/195345 (ver. .103)

You'll get a generic W7100 in the end, maybe it's enough?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Well, I checked the BIOSes you've provided, and they are WAY too different, starting with size (122kB vs 370kB), then different VRAM_Info tables and supported memory ICs (4H24MFR/4032BABG/4H24AJR vs 4H24AJR only) and many more other things I guess. Moreover, the 7150 you found is from a 7150x2 board in fact ("Master" and "Gemini" keywords in the header).

Let me simply ask, what's the reason fo such mod?
I guess both cards are FirePro-s and they should be compatible with Radeon Pro driver branch.

AFAIR when bits in DeviceID are fused to '1's, they can't be reversed back, so you can flash the DevID 290X to DevID 290 (0x67B0 -> 0x67B1), but you can't do the reversed trick.
Similarly you can't flash the 290X DevID to FirePro DevID (0x67B0 to 0x67A0).

How about trying these BIOSes:
https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/171144/171144 (ver. .102)
https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/195345/195345 (ver. .103)

You'll get a generic W7100 in the end, maybe it's enough?

My main goal is to have S7150 since the card is too pricey (still 500~700 after 10years).
FirePro S7150 is designed for MxGPU which allows user to assign single GPU to multiple VM.

BIOS size is different because it contains extra stuff for MxGPU (I am guessing) after 0x20000.
I have few other bios from S7150x2 and S7100x and they all have same data after 0x20000

I couldnt get real dump from S7150 so I used S7150x2 bios since it looks like they are pretty same but just PLX'ed


So my ultimate goal is to run MxGPU without having S7150.
I choose W7100 to modify since they are identical (same pcb, gpu, mem size)

One thing that I found before I mod is that W7100 comes with 128kb EEPROM and S7150 comes with 512kb EEPROM
my MXRT7600 also came with 512kb so I didnt have to do any hardware modification.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
@MihaStar
I read entire thread and there are only one post that mentions about DeviceID is being fused

The basic DeviceID comes from the fuses. For Hawaii / Grenada PRO and XT (8520 / 8800 ASIC) it is 67B0h with bits 15:4 being fixed (IIRC).

67B0h (XT): Bit 3:0 = 0000b
67B1h (PRO): Bit 3:0 = 0001b
So, when you say DeviceID is fused to 0x67B0 , I can go higher but not lower?
If above statement is true, the I should assume that my DeviceID is fused to 0x692B so I was able to go 0x693B but not 0x6929?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
To 0x693C
[email protected]:~$ sudo ./atiflash -f -p 0 w7100_new.rom
[sudo] password for user:
Old SSID: 3D2B
New SSID: 3D2B
Old P/N: 113-C7670800-103
New P/N: 113-C7670800-103
Old DeviceID: 693B
New DeviceID: 693C
Old Product Name: BARCO MXRT-7600
New Product Name: BARCO MXRT-7600
Old BIOS Version: 015.047.000.012.006913
New BIOS Version: 015.047.000.012.006913
Flash type: GD25Q41B
Burst size is 256
1E414/1E414h bytes programmed
1E414/1E414h bytes verified

Restart System To Complete VBIOS Update.

[email protected]:~$ sudo ./atiflash -ai
[sudo] password for user:
Adapter 0 (BN=03, DN=00, PCIID=693B1002, SSID=3D2B13CC)
Asic Family : Tonga
Flash Type : GD25Q41B (512 KB)
Product Name : BARCO MXRT-7600
Bios Config File : C7670800.103
Bios P/N : 113-C7670800-103
Bios Version : 015.047.000.012.006913
Bios Date : 06/29/16 23:00
ROM Image Type : Hybrid Images
ROM Image Details :
Image[0]: Size(65536 Bytes), Type(Legacy Image)
Image[1]: Size(58368 Bytes), Type(EFI Image)

To 0x692B
[email protected]:~$ sudo ./atiflash -f -p 0 w7100_new.rom
Old SSID: 3D2B
New SSID: 3D2B
Old P/N: 113-C7670800-103
New P/N: 113-C7670800-103
Old DeviceID: 693B
New DeviceID: 692B
Old Product Name: BARCO MXRT-7600
New Product Name: BARCO MXRT-7600
Old BIOS Version: 015.047.000.012.006913
New BIOS Version: 015.047.000.012.006913
Flash type: GD25Q41B
Burst size is 256
1E414/1E414h bytes programmed
1E414/1E414h bytes verified

Restart System To Complete VBIOS Update.


[email protected]:~$ sudo ./atiflash -ai
[sudo] password for user:
Adapter 0 (BN=03, DN=00, PCIID=693B1002, SSID=3D2B13CC)
Asic Family : Tonga
Flash Type : GD25Q41B (512 KB)
Product Name : BARCO MXRT-7600
Bios Config File : C7670800.103
Bios P/N : 113-C7670800-103
Bios Version : 015.047.000.012.006913
Bios Date : 06/29/16 23:00
ROM Image Type : Hybrid Images
ROM Image Details :
Image[0]: Size(65536 Bytes), Type(Legacy Image)
Image[1]: Size(58368 Bytes), Type(EFI Image)

I modified my original bios to see if i can change DeviceID
I did full power-cycle after each flash
I Fix BIOS image checksum with atomtool.py

I cannot go lower or higher at all.
I see atiflash reports new DeviceID but never gets applied
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
67 Posts
@MihaStar
I read entire thread and there are only one post that mentions about DeviceID is being fused



So, when you say DeviceID is fused to 0x67B0 , I can go higher but not lower?
If above statement is true, the I should assume that my DeviceID is fused to 0x692B so I was able to go 0x693B but not 0x6929?
Well, I see your point. And I also googled your messages here and there asking for help :)

Look, you can try to change the DevID to whatever you want, and simply flash the card under the DOS environment, checking for the result. You will see what bits are fused and what are not.
The final DevID impacts only the driver that will be loaded (if found matching DevID) or not.

In theory, I can try something similar with my 290X, will report the results later.

But I'm afraid your fused DevID is 692B, while the BIOS for MXRT7600 just added one bit making it 693B.

I haven't seen the resistor-related mechanism for DevID changing on AMD cards, like it's done on NVIDIA boards.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Well, I see your point. And I also googled your messages here and there asking for help :)

Look, you can try to change the DevID to whatever you want, and simply flash the card under the DOS environment, checking for the result. You will see what bits are fused and what are not.
The final DevID impacts only the driver that will be loaded (if found matching DevID) or not.

In theory, I can try something similar with my 290X, will report the results later.

But I'm afraid your fused DevID is 692B, while the BIOS for MXRT7600 just added one bit making it 693B.

I haven't seen the resistor-related mechanism for DevID changing on AMD cards, like it's done on NVIDIA boards.
I just tried 0x694B but its still stuck at 0x693B
Am I editing wrong place?
I only modified right after 'PCIR' and there are two places to edit (BIOS and EFI)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Is there a way to query efuses in ASIC?
I really want to compare with real s7150 and my w7100 and see the difference.
w7100 released 2014 aug and s7150 released 2016 feb.
Both cards are high enterprise level and kinda skeptical that they have different efuse.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
sensitivity/granularity of fan speed in powercolor r9 290x

What is max and min sensitivity/granularity of fan speed in my powercolor r9 290x? And can I use BIOS of powercolor r9 290x battlefield 4 edition for my powercolor r9 290x? Is there a big difference between versions with and without a game? Is it dangerous to flash the BIOS from the version with the game if I have a version without a game? I know for sure that bios is somewhat different, at least in the version without a game 55% and in the version with game 40%
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
BIOS Clock addresses differ between BIOS versions for the same card?

Wanted to know if it is normal and safe to use a different BIOS version for the same card? Wanted to better understand how the addresses are determined and if they can change because they are dynamic. I'm using the Hawaii Bios reader. I have two of the same card, but different BIOS. Looks like one version of the BIOS may be better than the other, but the HEX address values differ. Help would be much appreciated.

Mike
 

·
Like a fox!
Joined
·
2,523 Posts
Wanted to know if it is normal and safe to use a different BIOS version for the same card? Wanted to better understand how the addresses are determined and if they can change because they are dynamic. I'm using the Hawaii Bios reader. I have two of the same card, but different BIOS. Looks like one version of the BIOS may be better than the other, but the HEX address values differ. Help would be much appreciated.

Mike
With older video cards like this it is NOT SAFE AND DO NOT USE ANY OTHER BIOS OTHER THAN THE ONE THAT SHIPPED WITH YOUR CARD. There is information in the first post of this thread on how to modify the bios. Extract the original bios that shipped on your card, save it somewhere, modify it and flash the modified version. If you screw up then you can re-flash the original back onto it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
With older video cards like this it is NOT SAFE AND DO NOT USE ANY OTHER BIOS OTHER THAN THE ONE THAT SHIPPED WITH YOUR CARD. There is information in the first post of this thread on how to modify the bios. Extract the original bios that shipped on your card, save it somewhere, modify it and flash the modified version. If you screw up then you can re-flash the original back onto it.
Thanks for letting me know, that's pretty much what I did, but was hoping to use a different version of the bios as one card performs better than the other. I thought maybe it was due to the version of the bios.
 

·
Like a fox!
Joined
·
2,523 Posts
Thanks for letting me know, that's pretty much what I did, but was hoping to use a different version of the bios as one card performs better than the other. I thought maybe it was due to the version of the bios.
It's more down to the silicon lotto and if you got lucky with a high clocking card or not. In general the 4GB version of the 290X overclocks a good bit higher / faster than the 8GB version, FYI. Also you can remove the power limits with the editing tools for all bios's, even the bios's from AMD on a stock R9 290X. There's no need to concern yourself with any other bios. Just tune the one on your card and it should let you get the most out of your card.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
It's more down to the silicon lotto and if you got lucky with a high clocking card or not. In general the 4GB version of the 290X overclocks a good bit higher / faster than the 8GB version, FYI. Also you can remove the power limits with the editing tools for all bios's, even the bios's from AMD on a stock R9 290X. There's no need to concern yourself with any other bios. Just tune the one on your card and it should let you get the most out of your card.
My case is a bit different than the normal R9 290. I have an S9150. All I want to do is hit the top factory clock. For some reason, the card is not doing this and you can't use a tool like afterburner to adjust the voltage or clocks because they are all locked down as it's a server card. I was able to use the Hawaii BIOS editor, but not sure if I can use a different version BIOS for the same exact card. All the specs look to be the same but one BIOS is newer than the other. What had me concerned is the fact that the HEX address values for the clocks and other are different. Don't know why they would be different for the exact same cards.
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
117 Posts
Quick question here to see if I can get an answer without starting a new thread: GPU died on me and thinking of picking up a R9 390x. I think some may not know, but there are sporadic issues with RX 400 series and RX 500 series working with legacy bios on older boards, even though they theoretically should work.

Can anyone confirm via experience with older mobos if a R9 390x (looking at the sapphire versions with the physical bios switch) should work with my ancient X38 board and this BIOS?: American Megatrends Inc. 1403, 9/10/2009
 

·
Nvidia "shill"
Joined
·
1,410 Posts
Quick question here to see if I can get an answer without starting a new thread: GPU died on me and thinking of picking up a R9 390x. I think some may not know, but there are sporadic issues with RX 400 series and RX 500 series working with legacy bios on older boards, even though they theoretically should work.

Can anyone confirm via experience with older mobos if a R9 390x (looking at the sapphire versions with the physical bios switch) should work with my ancient X38 board and this BIOS?: American Megatrends Inc. 1403, 9/10/2009
Mine does, but mine is a 290X and it has dual bios, one is UEFI, the other is legacy BIOS, if i flip it to the legacy bios switch it works flawlessly. I think the 300 series its automatic, the 200 series not so much. Also my 290X is the MSI Gaming version so I can't speak for Sapphire.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
117 Posts
^Thank you!
 

·
MOAR COOKIES
Joined
·
2 Posts
I see that there are still activity in this thread so I'm going to try my luck.


I just picked up an R9 290x from ebay that, on stock cooling (reference) does 1225 on core and 1625 on memory (maxed out in afterburner). Now I wonder what it can do if I throw my phase changer on it. I remember some problems with black benching on cold but I can only go to -40. I think that's where the problems start but I will try to work around it somehow. I have a cascade that goes to -120 with a very good 9900K that can run 6+GHz with it on, and very good memory controller, so I have a good chance at some good scores.


Anyway, I just cannot find links that work to the PT1 and PT3 BIOS, I remember using them back when the cards came out (still running the original ones I got in my gaming system). Does anyone have these BIOS? I want to test various voltage settings and perhaps do a live stream this weekend if I can get a hold of these BIOS again. But I won't go far without proper voltage control.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
425 Posts
I see that there are still activity in this thread so I'm going to try my luck.


I just picked up an R9 290x from ebay that, on stock cooling (reference) does 1225 on core and 1625 on memory (maxed out in afterburner). Now I wonder what it can do if I throw my phase changer on it. I remember some problems with black benching on cold but I can only go to -40. I think that's where the problems start but I will try to work around it somehow. I have a cascade that goes to -120 with a very good 9900K that can run 6+GHz with it on, and very good memory controller, so I have a good chance at some good scores.


Anyway, I just cannot find links that work to the PT1 and PT3 BIOS, I remember using them back when the cards came out (still running the original ones I got in my gaming system). Does anyone have these BIOS? I want to test various voltage settings and perhaps do a live stream this weekend if I can get a hold of these BIOS again. But I won't go far without proper voltage control.
Here is it
 

Attachments

·
MOAR COOKIES
Joined
·
2 Posts
Wow thank you very much mate! That was exactly what I needed! I hope the newer versions of ASUS tweak will still be able to get voltage and higher frequency control.


In case anyone asks for the same, I was able to get the ASUS tweak version that let's you gain full voltage control. Version number is 2491.


I am unable to upload it here as max allowed file size is 9766KB, not sure where to upload it for people who may need it, sorry.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14 Posts
Hello,
just bought an 290 Sapphire Tri X 4gb for fun and would like to flash 290x or 390 bios.
Downloaded all the tools did a search. Got usb flash drive ready.
However cannot run hawaiinfo or memoryinfo in windows10 at all in order to check if it is unlockable or not.
Any help appreciated.
Thank you
 
4301 - 4320 of 4320 Posts
Top