Overclock.net banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I don't know if it's a combination of me being an idiot and having a bad chip, or both. I've tried overclocking on my own, I've tried reading a guide (didn't really help much cause it just goes over my head), but to no avail. I just can't seem to do anything right. If I go over anything past 3.2, everything seems to go screwy. I've tried messing with voltages, and whatnot but Prime95 just says NOPE after around 15 minutes every time. At stock, my temps are about 23C and at load around 44 ~ 46C. Every time I try to overclock, my temps get over 50C and then it either reboots or BSOD. What setting do I need to enable/disable? Can anyone help and show me the way! If I need to add anymore information about my setup, let me know. Everything is at default settings in the BIOS and everything is at stock except my GPU.

My specs:

CPU: 1090t @ 3.2GHz 1.4v (stock)
MOBO: ASRock 970 Extreme4
GPU: AMD 6950 Unlocked (880/1375)
HSF: Antec Kuhler H20 620
RAM: 8 GB Kingston HyperX 1600 (9-9-9-24)
PSU: 750w PC Power & Cooling



http://valid.canardpc.com/2713555

http://valid.canardpc.com/2713555
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,023 Posts
okay do this, make sure your Hypertransport stays under 2000mhz, this is crucial. Don't set your voltage over 1.475v for the cpu, and don't go over 1.4v for the cpu-nb. I'd try these settings specifically.

cpu: 1.4v
Cpu-nb: 1.3v
Dram voltage: 1.55v
FSB: 245
Cpumulti: 15.5
Hypertransport multi: 8
Northbridge multi: 10 or 11
Dram multi: 4

Also if i remember correctly Asrock board has an issue with memory faster then 1600 in any other configuration then NYNY

N being no memory, Y being yes to a stick.

Run prime95, monitor your temps and let me know how it goes, don't go over 55-60 on cores.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply! Should I change the position of my RAM or downclock it? Also what settings do I need to enable or disable?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
9,807 Posts
Have you run MemTest on your RAM to see if it has any errors? P95 is fairly sensitive to those on AMD's. Also, when you're overclocking, try setting the RAM lower i.e. 1066MHz and then clock the CPU up. Once you achieve your max stable CPU overclock start messing with the RAM speed/timings.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Yeah, its 2x4. I also didn't see a dram multiplier or the HT multiplier anywhere and darn it I looked. How long should I run prime95 to see of it's stable?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cannon19932006 View Post

okay do this, make sure your Hypertransport stays under 2000mhz, this is crucial. Don't set your voltage over 1.475v for the cpu, and don't go over 1.4v for the cpu-nb. I'd try these settings specifically.

cpu: 1.4v
Cpu-nb: 1.3v
Dram voltage: 1.55v
FSB: 245
Cpumulti: 15.5
Hypertransport multi: 8
Northbridge multi: 10 or 11
Dram multi: 4

Also if i remember correctly Asrock board has an issue with memory faster then 1600 in any other configuration then NYNY

N being no memory, Y being yes to a stick.

Run prime95, monitor your temps and let me know how it goes, don't go over 55-60 on cores.
I tried the settings as best I could and rebooted about 10 min. My temps were at 54C. I also switched the RAM around too. I also can't boot into memtest apparently. I'm trying 4.2 from a USB drive. I have no discs
frown.gif


Edit: never mind, I updated my bios and I'm running memtest right now.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,774 Posts
it would seem to me when i had my asrock 990fx extreme3 i was able to nail 3.7ghz on about 1.42 on the vcore with just multiplier. though that was more then a whole calender year ago and ive since upgraded to an fx 8350 from the 1090t thuban. i was able to also hit 3.8ghz on 1.42 on the vcore on my 990fxa-ud3 too, and both of those were rock stable prime95 tested with air cooling. specifically with a cooler master v6gt. i ended up switching to water when i knew id want to go with a piledriver when they came out. you might be trying to hit too high too fast.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Well, I have a decent cooler so I know heat isn't the problem. When just doing normal stuff on my computer, it stays under 30C.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,774 Posts
i dont think its your temps, id say its more then likely not getting quite enough voltages. try setting 1.45 vcore and jacking the multiplier to x19 on the cpu and leaving everything else alone, then try prime95 and see if it stabilizes. 1.55 is the max safe vcore on the 1090t and you dont want the cores hitting more then id say 55 degrees celcius.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
9,691 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cannon19932006 View Post

okay do this, make sure your Hypertransport stays under 2000mhz, this is crucial. Don't set your voltage over 1.475v for the cpu, and don't go over 1.4v for the cpu-nb. I'd try these settings specifically.

cpu: 1.4v
Cpu-nb: 1.3v
Dram voltage: 1.55v
FSB: 245
Cpumulti: 15.5
Hypertransport multi: 8
Northbridge multi: 10 or 11
Dram multi: 4

Run prime95, monitor your temps and let me know how it goes, don't go over 55-60 on cores.
WHAT?????
These are the max voltage from AMD on air or water.
CPU 1.55v
CPU/NB (AKA NB voltage) 1.5v
And for temp the max temp on the cores is 62c.

EDIT
Please this.

AMD_Dragon_AM3_AM2_Performance_Tuning_Guide.pdf 624k .pdf file
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,023 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dixson01974 View Post

WHAT?????
These are the max voltage from AMD on air or water.
CPU 1.55v
CPU/NB (AKA NB voltage) 1.5v
And for temp the max temp on the cores is 62c.

EDIT
Please this.

AMD_Dragon_AM3_AM2_Performance_Tuning_Guide.pdf 624k .pdf file
I respect this guide much more than that tiny bit of info amd gave.
http://www.overclock.net/t/777378/official-gappos-little-deneb-thuban-overclocking-guide-with-too-many-smileys

CPU VOLTAGES

We've a tried and tested limit of 1.55vcore for Deneb based phenom II's and Athlon II's. It's a safe limit and you don't see much scaling past that so this is you

Thubans are a different story. We've heard from reliable sources that past 1.475 is the danger zone. Much past that and heat is going to become an issue anyway. If your on a Thuban on ambient then this is you.

We know our voltage limits and the maximum operating temperature is 62C. More often than not going near this limit is going to negate stability so keep well under that. You be the judge.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
216 Posts
Don't mess with the FSB multi just yet because that changes the ram speed as well. I'd set the voltage to 1.425v, cpu to 3.5ghz(17.5x), set LLC (Load Line Calibration) to the highest settings available. Then make sure to disable turbo, C1E, and cool'n'quiet. If this doesn't work, incrementally increase your voltage. As for your temperature issue, I wouldn't trust all temp readings except that of the BIOS. Although your temps could be high as long as they don't exceed 62C you should be fine.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #16 ·
It seems I got it to about 3.7GHz stable. After that, it BSOD no matter what CPU voltage I'm at. How should I go about stabling it out after that? Heat isn't the issue since it never gets anywhere near hot enough. Is it the CPU NB I need to adjust after that?
 
1 - 20 of 36 Posts
Top