Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1,855 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I got a few questions regarding my processor and overclocking.
I'm sure some of the questions might be stupid but bare with me since I'm new at this.

1) I currently have a stock Intel HSF that came with my P4 550, my question is that I managed to get my hands on a Zalman CNPS7000B for practically free; problem is this HSF doesn't fit on my socket 775 without buying some mounts. Would using this heatsink dramatically increase my CPUs cooling if I where to install it with the mounts of would it be more advisable to simple save up and buy something like an XP-90/XP120.

Right now my CPU's temps according to Everest and SpeedFan are 54 degrees Celsius and I think that if I overclocked it would be advisable to have something a little cooler as a base.

2) I read up on how all the overclocking works and so I went into the bios to check things out and see what was tweak able just as a way to familiarize myself.
Here's what I get

Is the CPU Dynamic Overclocking an option that is helping me overclock instead of having to change do all the changing myself?
If I change the CPU Dynamic Overclocking will I still have to set a memory divider?
Or anything else for that matter?
Any more input is appreciated.

* = refers to what options are available for me to change other that what is default at the moment, ex: High Performance Mode is at Manual, but Optimized is the other option available to me;

* = refers to what is grayed out in the bios; some are locked but those that are not have blue valuables underneath.

Please excuse if I come over as condescending, but I'm writing this in a way I can understand.
Specs are in sig.
Thanks for any help

·
Premium Member
7,862 Posts
Well I think that if you have a nice Zalman, you should buy some mounts as they cost little! Then, if the cooling does not suffice to your needs you can always upgrade to the XP series.

·
Premium Member
4,976 Posts