Overclock.net banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I'm new to OC'ing and got a system together. I've been reading these forums and some guides and while I understand the basics, I seem to be having trouble with my current setup. I am able to basically get to 3.5 stable without any trouble (CPU bus at 250), but anything further I'm not stable for more than about 15 mins (running LinX, Prime95).

Some of these questions may sound very silly to you, but I'm just learning so bear with me please.

For one, I'm pretty confused by the TA890FXE BIOS. Most things I've read talk about adjusting the multiplier for NB and HTLink. I find no such thing in the BIOS. I see the frequencies (1.6, 1.8, 2.0 ghz, etc.) for NB and HT link - is that equivalent to the actual multiplier (x7, x8...)? When I leave these to default (2000mhz), it obviously doesn't mean that it is set at that value since in CPU-Z the numbers appear higher based on the CPU FSB I set. How do I control NB and HT Link frequencies? Just clock them down to say 1600 and let increase in cpu bus adjust them to around 2000? Hope it makes sense what I'm asking.

Is there a thorough guide available for this BIOS somewhere that explains the "T-Series" configuration items in detail?

I have a lot more questions on things like setting the voltages (like where exactly and when to set voltages in "Over voltage configuration" or "CPU FID/VID Control"), and memory timing, but this is a good place to start.

Hitting 4.0ghz doesn't seem to be an issue for most of you, and while I don't think I'll push that far simply because of possible temp issues with my setup (at least till I get better fans and setup push/pull), I would like to get around 3.8 stable if I can.

I'm not sure what all information to provide so please just ask. Thanks for your time.

·
Registered
1,588 Posts