Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
224 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Really just looking to mess around with 32 cores and server stuff and i found some good deals. but i need a few questins answered.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Dell-PowerEdge-C6145-Server-Quad-Socket-G34-DDR3-AMD-Motherboard-DW8Y5-40N24-/181462183822?pt=Motherboards&hash=item2a3ffd2f8e
That is the motherboard I'm looking at. I think the form factor is proprietary but I'm not sure, used to standard ITX m-atx,atx and e atx. My understanding is there are pci-e lanes but they are different connectors or something. What are these called and where can I get them?I'm looking into putting at least a single gpu inside if i can. Next I need a case for this and suggestions just need it to hold up to 5 drives , but 1 is fine. help me out please?
P.S. I'm familiar with most general pc stuff but I'm not good with server terms, so please take it easy on me:)

·
Registered
55 Posts
Don't even attempt to build with this board unless it is going into a Dell Poweredge C6145. (which is a 2U blade server)

The whole system is near enough propriety, with disk and power being handled by the blade chassis. As a result you will need the blade server chassis to make this board useful. Plus there are no PCI-e ports. They are on weird risers for this system as the intended market will only be using 10Gb or FC cards. Not large GPUs.

If you want to use the AMD G34 socket, your best bet is to look for Supermicro boards as they tend to be in the E-ATX form factor.

·
Premium Member
65,162 Posts
First step of any server build..... what will you be building the server for and what are the requirements?

Next, what's your level of experience with either Windows Server or Linux?

Don't ever buy server hardware without defining what you want to do. You will generally end up wasting money and sometimes will not be able to accomplish what you need effectively.

·
Registered
224 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·