Overclock.net banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first build from about 3 months ago, so im pretty new to this stuff. A couple of days ago, I installed a new h70 and was hoping to try out overclocking. However, after installing it, my computer now shuts off instantly right after I power up before it even posts or anything. Now I have no idea whats wrong.

I installed the cooler just like in corsairs video and it felt like everything went smoothly until I tried to power on. So far, i've tried tried reseating the h70, booting with 1 stick of ram, resetting cmos, and reconnecting the psu, but still no luck. Any ideas of what could be wrong? Everything was working perfect before and i diddn't really touch anything when I installed the h70. Is it possible that somehow the mobo/psu might have been damaged in the process?

Any help would be appreciated.

·
Registered
3,659 Posts
Unlikely that something got damaged with you were switching coolers. If I were you I'd give the old cooler a shot again, and see if it run fine.

Quote:

Originally Posted by SmasherBasher View Post
You probably forgot to plug the pump in and it overheated.
This too. That would suck if this is the case.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
ive tried plugging the pump into a fan header, cpu header, and even the psu but with same results. the computer shuts off instantly (1 second or less) when i power on, from the google searches ive done it seems like cpu overheat usually shuts down after ~5 seconds but im not sure. Ive tried reseating and the pump is on pretty snug so im not sure how it can overheat

thanks for the replies btw

·
Premium Member
18,369 Posts
Your h70 might be doa then try putting your old cooler back on and see if it works.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·