Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey guys I'm new at this oc and my pc is outdated... I would love to oc my cpu more I just increased the fsb to 400 and its cocking at 3.6ghz now....I wanna oc the cpu to 4.0ghz and my ram to 1600mhz
My rig...

P5g41t-m asus mobo
Core 2 quad q9650
zalman 10xcpns cooler
2x4gb Ddr3 133mhz
palit gtx 460 super sonic platinum 1gb
ssd cortex 128gb (os win7 x64bit
Raidmax 730watt psu
Coolermaster cm690ii nvidia advanced edition
I hope use can get the time to teach me:)

·
Registered
8 Posts
That cpu will easily hit 4 GHz just make sure you have good cooling cos that will heat up fast with 4GHz as for the ram im not to sure you can have a go but in all honesty you'd be best off buying 1600 MHz ram rather than OC'ing

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
ok so I will buy 1600mhz ram and the zalman is a good cooler my temps for the most on idle is 32 on idle ( depending on the weather) and loading it hits 47 degrees...Can I just change the fsb and it will oc to 4ghz? Or must I tweak the voltage and other stuff?? F.y.i I don't even know how to tweak the voltage lol

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
oh lol:)
I just oc'd it to 3.8ghz just buy increasing the fsb a bit
idle temps 38,23,32,39
Loading temps are 51,43,50,49
When I tried to raise the fsb to 445 and it didn't go higher...I know I'm missing something but just don't know what:(

·
Registered
3,020 Posts
Have you tried increasing the north bridge voltage? It helps a lot. Keep load core temps under 75°C.

what CPU voltage are you running on that over clock?

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
now you see buddy I don't know how to change the voltage:/...Its still on default voltage:(...And when I raise the fsb my ram frequency decreases..Its standard 1333mhz but last night it changed to 800mhz:(...The only thing in the bios I tamper with is the fsb coz I don't know what's going on there:/

·