Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a noob with AMD overclocking, i once did a overclock on a old 1.6ghz AMD desktop but that was the automatic 6% overclock, pretty much all i've done with AMD... Had a sucessful 4.4 GHz E8400 on a DFI Blood Iron P45 T2RS with OCZ HPC Reaper ram... Around 2.4 GHz FSB, kicked ass, but, yes... Now i want to do the same to this stupid processor! Im using a Xigmatek HDT 1283 to keep it cooled, (close to T Ultra 120 Extreme performance)

But please, im so confused, tell me what i can do without burning the mobo (CPU is allowed to burn out in less than a year though, haha, i got a bad one that doesnt unlock even at 1.6 volt.. no L3 or 4th core)

What settings would i need to put, for... lets say, close to 3.6 - 4 ghz stable?

EDIT: pfft right, i forgot to add, even at everything stock except the bus speed at 223 it crashes in prime. It runs stable at 1.4 volt with 3010 mhz - 223 bus but no matter what volt i give, it crashes above 223?

·
Registered
318 Posts
Did you try some values above 233? Maybe it's a hole. I wouldn't expect a 4.0 overclock on it anyways, maybe a 3.6-3.7.

Did you lower the Hypertransport multiplier?

EDIT: A good way to check whether the mobo is the limiting factor is to severely lower the CPU multiplier and then start clocking up the bus (stock voltage). You'll know the limit when you start failing Prime95. My EVO gave out around 255 mhz, but you might as well try it for yourself.

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I've tried all volts and bus speeds up to 260 ..
Which one is the HT multiplier? >.<
CPU/NB Frequency x10
Processor Multiplier at x13.5
HT Link Frequency at 2000... does that say anything?

And if - like yours stopped at 255 - wouldnt it just be possible to add some extra volts? >.<

edit: Using Mushkin Stiletto CL9 1600MHZ ram btw, stock 1.65volt but i have them at 1.8 volt

·
Registered
318 Posts