Overclock.net banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently received a i7-860 as a gift. and I'm planning to build a HTPC/NAS combo around this cpu. I'm a totally newbie at this please give your suggestions.

This build will be basically be a 24/7 box sit next to the TV, a little noise from the harddrives will not bother me much. I'm thinking 4x 1TB Harddrives.
And it will serve these purposes

- Streaming avi/mkv/rmvb files regularly
- Plays Blu-Ray movies occasionally
- Storage for all my important files & backups my other 3 pcs weekly
(pictures/word documents/outlook email backups/movies etc.)
- File Sharing through out the home network
- FTP server & Ventrilo server
- Plays MAME games on big television occasionally

I have no intention to make it to be a DVR box or anything, the list above should be everything that I need.

Please give your inputs or link components that you think it will be suffice for my needs.

much appreciated~~ thanks!!

·
Registered
1,106 Posts
buy a micro ATX board. Some cheap DDR3 memory, a decent and quiet power supply and anything under the 5670 ATI series cards and you will be laughing.

·
Registered
1,598 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by dexmaus View Post
I recently received a i7-860 as a gift. and I'm planning to build a HTPC/NAS combo around this cpu. I'm a totally newbie at this please give your suggestions.

This build will be basically be a 24/7 box sit next to the TV, a little noise from the harddrives will not bother me much. I'm thinking 4x 1TB Harddrives.
And it will serve these purposes

- Streaming avi/mkv/rmvb files regularly
- Plays Blu-Ray movies occasionally
- Storage for all my important files & backups my other 3 pcs weekly
(pictures/word documents/outlook email backups/movies etc.)
- File Sharing through out the home network
- FTP server & Ventrilo server
- Plays MAME games on big television occasionally