Overclock.net banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
396 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm trying to overclock my son's PC which is getting old now, from 2.5Ghz to at least 3.0Ghz.

From what i have researched you only need to adjust the CPU Multiplier with AMD CPU's & leave everything else on auto, I have tryed that + a couple of other settings/disabled DRAM Ganged Mode.ect
But keep getting BSOD no matter what i do + only had it running @2.7GHz but that didn't last long.

Would anyone know how to OC this CPU & keep it stable?
as i'm not that experienced at OC'ing.

·
Registered
2,189 Posts
The Phenom I processors are notoriously bad for overclocking. When I had a 9850 I achieved similar results; anything past 2.7 was unstable no matter how much voltage you poured into it.

·
Banned
9,168 Posts
I believe and don't quote me on this (unless its correct, quote away)... That is because the Original Phenom I design was kind like Sandy Bridge in that the NB frequency was controlled directly by the core frequency.

I don't know if that is true or not, I've heard it before and it made sense to me.

·
Registered
396 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks, Someone told me this before, but i thought i would be able to at least get some sort of OC out of it, looks like we will have to replace the mobo & CPU in the near future, as it runs OK for now, but would like to keep up with the times.

·
Registered
370 Posts
When i had one i discovered that if you put too much voltage, like 1,55v is became realy unstable. You dont want the temps to reach 50 degree too.

·
Long Time Lurker
948 Posts
I was incredibly lucky to have had a 9850 that would do 3.0GHz with minimal voltage increase. Unfortunately, more Phenom I chips are absolutely terrible overclockers.

·
Registered
396 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·