Overclock.net banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm in search of some help here and haven't really been able to find much on any other site, so I figured I'd ask some of you that are MUCH more experienced than myself. Yes, I'm a definite newbie just looking for some assitance. Over the weekend I received all the parts I purchased to build a computer (sort of my first attempt). I bought a CPU/Motherboard combo that had been overclocked from a 2.8ghz to a 3.3. It had been tested and running stable for quite some time. Here is a link to the item exactly, so you know what I'm working with:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...tem=6737259774

Well I wasn't able to successfully boot up an install CD for XP, and had to reset the CMOS via the jumpers on the motherboard to get it to successfully install a fresh copy of XP. I don't know why, but with it overclocked, I couldn't get it to automatically boot up the XP CD. It would act as if it was going to work, and then just stall (no activitiy). Well like I said, I reset the CMOS, and forgot to write down all the settings that were set in the BIOS by the previous owner to overclock it (stupidity, I know). Well after resetting the CMOS, I was able to get the CD to boot up and now I have Windows installed and running fine. My question is... "How can I get it back to 3.3ghz?" Sorry about all the mombo jombo above, but I figured I should explain my reasoning behind wanting help.